If you think a bug might affect users in the 57 release, please set the correct tracking and status flags for Release Management.

[Tarako][ConnectA2][16e] Application eaten up Application Storage after sent media files.

RESOLVED FIXED

Status

Tech Evangelism
Preinstalled B2G Apps
--
blocker
RESOLVED FIXED
3 years ago
3 years ago

People

(Reporter: Marvin_Khoo, Unassigned)

Tracking

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

Attachments

(1 attachment)

(Reporter)

Description

3 years ago
Precondition:
- Install ConnectA2 and setup a account with Friends list.
- Go to Settings and check Application Storage size.


STR:
1. Select new chat
2. Send a video / Audio / photo to a friend, notice that the file size has to be over couple MB so that it's more easier to notice the issue.
3. Go to Setting and check Application size after media content sent.

Observed:
- Each of every content sent over ConnectA2 will eat up Application Storage.
- Go back to Home, Uninstall ConnectA2 do NOT recover the Application Storage. only certain amount of size being releases.

Expectation:
- Each sent media content shall not occupy Application Storage.
- When application is uninstalled, make sure all related files will be cleaned.
(Reporter)

Updated

3 years ago
Severity: normal → blocker
(Reporter)

Comment 1

3 years ago
ConnectA2 application version: v016e
Marvin, do we have more details how ConnectA2 saves images into Application Storage and why those wouldn't be deleted when removing the app? I would expect that, when using device storage, the pictures would be stored on SD card.

Juanma, could you look into this? You might have an idea of what changes in the app that this is happening now?
Flags: needinfo?(mkhoo)
Flags: needinfo?(dev)
(In reply to Harald Kirschner :digitarald from comment #2)
> Marvin, do we have more details how ConnectA2 saves images into Application
> Storage and why those wouldn't be deleted when removing the app? I would
> expect that, when using device storage, the pictures would be stored on SD
> card.
> 
> Juanma, could you look into this? You might have an idea of what changes in
> the app that this is happening now?

Harald,

Looking at storage use what we could see is for example:
1. Check Device storages (Application/Media)
2. Launch connectA2, enter a chat
3. Attach video > camera and start recording for some time
4. Stop video recording > select video recorded > send
Result: both Application and Media storage decreased by the same amount

Another test step
1. Check Device storages (Application/Media)
2. Launch connectA2, enter a chat
3. Attach video > select from media storage, something 2mb for example
4. Repeat last step, send the same 2mb video again.
Result: Application storage decreased by approx 4mb

Note. Device becomes near unusable when available App Storage gets to 0kb.

Comment 4

3 years ago
(In reply to Harald Kirschner :digitarald from comment #2)
> Marvin, do we have more details how ConnectA2 saves images into Application
> Storage and why those wouldn't be deleted when removing the app? I would
> expect that, when using device storage, the pictures would be stored on SD
> card.
> 
> Juanma, could you look into this? You might have an idea of what changes in
> the app that this is happening now?

Hello,

The App should write in App storage and media storage at the moment. We did that in order to allow saving media to users without SDCard.

'Write only to the media storage' (for users with SDCard) is an improvement that we have in our TODO list. But it is not implemented yet.  In the future, we would like not allowing to save media to users without SDCard, so they should download again their photos, videos, audios, until they insert a SDCard.

I think the App cannot delete App storage when it is uninstalled. How do we know? What event is fired?

If the problem cannot be fixed within the OS, we could give priority to this issue and look for a solution via our App (but this would be a solution only for our App).

Juanma
Flags: needinfo?(dev)
(Reporter)

Comment 5

3 years ago
Hi Halard, clear my ni here, as Juanma already answered it.

Hi Juanma,
thanks for your feedback, i'm sending you email to check if we be able to schedule a call here.
Flags: needinfo?(mkhoo)
(Reporter)

Comment 6

3 years ago
Hi Juanma,
Kindly update us when you have test version ready.


BR,
Marvin
(Reporter)

Comment 7

3 years ago
ni Juanma here
Flags: needinfo?(dev)

Comment 8

3 years ago
Created attachment 8462312 [details]
ConnectA2_v16f_RC1.zip
Flags: needinfo?(dev)

Comment 9

3 years ago
(In reply to Marvin Khoo [:Marvin_Khoo] from comment #7)
> ni Juanma here


Hello Marvin,

This is a technical release which uses SDCard only.

We are not reusing the same file when we load a file from 'the Gallery' because we had some problems with the development environment (App Manager).

Our testers will start to test the App in 3 hours.

Juanma
I've approved the update on Marketplace.  Note I was unable to test the fix functions correctly as I didn't receive the sms confirmation (after 2 attempts)
I am also unable to receive a confirmation code.

Comment 12

3 years ago
Hello,

I don't have any problem with the registration. I have just checked it.

There are 3 main reasons that result in not getting the code:

- The device time and date is wrong. At the moment we don't send an error message when this is happening, but it is not usual, except in some Tarako devices where the Time/Date doesn’t automatically update.

- There is no Internet connection.

- In some cases, when you register too many times the same number, the number gets corrupted in WhatsApp servers. This is not usual, except if you are changing all the time WhatsApp clients.

Furthermore, it could be that the WhatsApp servers were down temporally. Could you please confirm that it is not accepting the registration yet?

If you don't get the SMS code yet, please send me the mobile number to check it. Or if you prefer not to share your mobile number you could check it yourself with this tool: https://github.com/shirioko/WART/raw/master/WART-1.7.0.0.exe. You will need to introduce your mobile number in international format (example for the UK: 44771234567), no password, and 'request code'. Could you please send me the result?

I will wait for your feedbacks.

Juanma
Flags: needinfo?(nick)
Flags: needinfo?(awilliamson)
(In reply to dev from comment #12)
> Hello,
> 
> I don't have any problem with the registration. I have just checked it.
> 
> There are 3 main reasons that result in not getting the code:
> 
> - The device time and date is wrong. At the moment we don't send an error
> message when this is happening, but it is not usual, except in some Tarako
> devices where the Time/Date doesn’t automatically update.
> 
> - There is no Internet connection.
> 
> - In some cases, when you register too many times the same number, the
> number gets corrupted in WhatsApp servers. This is not usual, except if you
> are changing all the time WhatsApp clients.
> 
> Furthermore, it could be that the WhatsApp servers were down temporally.
> Could you please confirm that it is not accepting the registration yet?
> 
> If you don't get the SMS code yet, please send me the mobile number to check
> it. Or if you prefer not to share your mobile number you could check it
> yourself with this tool:
> https://github.com/shirioko/WART/raw/master/WART-1.7.0.0.exe. You will need
> to introduce your mobile number in international format (example for the UK:
> 44771234567), no password, and 'request code'. Could you please send me the
> result?
> 
> I will wait for your feedbacks.
> 
> Juanma

With the tool the SMS gets sent so I confirmed and got a password back.  Are these credentials stored anywhere that would persist even after I uninstalled the app? (I've uninstalled and installed the app a lot)
Flags: needinfo?(awilliamson)
(In reply to dev from comment #8)
> Created attachment 8462312 [details]
> ConnectA2_v16f_RC1.zip

I downloaded and try this file. I notice that the version still show 016e, and when there is no SD card in the phone, application storage will be used by this app. Is it as expected?
Indeed, my date was ahead by one.  I now have the confirmation code and activated.  Is there a test account I could add as a contact to send test messages to?
Flags: needinfo?(nick)

Comment 16

3 years ago
(In reply to Andrew Williamson [:eviljeff] from comment #13)
> (In reply to dev from comment #12)
> > Hello,
> > 
> > I don't have any problem with the registration. I have just checked it.
> > 
> > There are 3 main reasons that result in not getting the code:
> > 
> > - The device time and date is wrong. At the moment we don't send an error
> > message when this is happening, but it is not usual, except in some Tarako
> > devices where the Time/Date doesn’t automatically update.
> > 
> > - There is no Internet connection.
> > 
> > - In some cases, when you register too many times the same number, the
> > number gets corrupted in WhatsApp servers. This is not usual, except if you
> > are changing all the time WhatsApp clients.
> > 
> > Furthermore, it could be that the WhatsApp servers were down temporally.
> > Could you please confirm that it is not accepting the registration yet?
> > 
> > If you don't get the SMS code yet, please send me the mobile number to check
> > it. Or if you prefer not to share your mobile number you could check it
> > yourself with this tool:
> > https://github.com/shirioko/WART/raw/master/WART-1.7.0.0.exe. You will need
> > to introduce your mobile number in international format (example for the UK:
> > 44771234567), no password, and 'request code'. Could you please send me the
> > result?
> > 
> > I will wait for your feedbacks.
> > 
> > Juanma
> 
> With the tool the SMS gets sent so I confirmed and got a password back.  Are
> these credentials stored anywhere that would persist even after I
> uninstalled the app? (I've uninstalled and installed the app a lot)

Hello Andrew,

Your situation is very unusual. When this is happening to our users usually it is because the OS is corrupted in some way. Maybe the SSL functionality is not working correctly, or whatever other one. So you have the sensation that ConnectA2 is not working, but it is related with some functionality which is not working. Can you please try resetting the device?

Many thanks,

Juanma

Maybe it will get solved by resetting the device.

Juanma

Comment 17

3 years ago
(In reply to Kai-Zhen Li from comment #14)
> (In reply to dev from comment #8)
> > Created attachment 8462312 [details]
> > ConnectA2_v16f_RC1.zip
> 
> I downloaded and try this file. I notice that the version still show 016e,
> and when there is no SD card in the phone, application storage will be used
> by this app. Is it as expected?

Hello Kai,

Could you please check if this is a delay showing the memory left? We noticed that the configuration App takes some time to refresh the memory left.

Juanma

Comment 18

3 years ago
(In reply to Nick Desaulniers [:\n] from comment #15)
> Indeed, my date was ahead by one.  I now have the confirmation code and
> activated.  Is there a test account I could add as a contact to send test
> messages to?

Hello Nick,

You can send messages to yourself. You need to include your own mobile number in your phone book and refresh the contacts inside the App.

Juanma

Comment 19

3 years ago
Can we get confirmation that this bug is either resolved or still reproducible? Looks like there's a solution for the 'no confirmation code received' issue.
Flags: needinfo?(ndesaulniers)
Flags: needinfo?(adora)
Looks like it's still reproducible to me, when testing with the attached case (ConnectA2_v16f_RC1.zip).

What I did:
1. Go to Settings > Application storage, noted 7.9MB used.
2. Downloaded this bug's attachment, unzipped it, added it App Manager.
3. Push app to 1.4 Flame.
4. Sign in, add contacts, existing video
5. Go to Settings > Application storage, noted 17.3MB used.

I thought I may have messed up by measuring before the app was installed (as packaged apps do take up storage :P), so I took another video and

Settings > Application storage, noted 18.9MB used.  The video is significantly bigger than 1.6MB (18.9-17.3), in fact it's 11.3MB.

This means that videos are successfully being written to SD card, and that this bug should be closed.  The additional 1.6MB used from sharing a single video (and the duplicates copies created on the SD card) are however troubling.  Not sure if large amounts of data is being serialized to localstorage or indexedDB perhaps, but that certainly isn't sustainable.  Regardless, those can be made into separate issues.
Flags: needinfo?(ndesaulniers)
Flags: needinfo?(adora)
> Looks like it's still reproducible to me, when testing with the attached case (ConnectA2_v16f_RC1.zip).

Sorry, I meant to remove this line after taking the second video.
(Reporter)

Comment 22

3 years ago
this one is resolved.
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 3 years ago
Resolution: --- → FIXED
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.