Removing fields when editing a profile is confusing

RESOLVED WONTFIX

Status

Participation Infrastructure
Phonebook
RESOLVED WONTFIX
3 years ago
3 years ago

People

(Reporter: quentinp, Unassigned)

Tracking

Details

Attachments

(1 attachment)

(Reporter)

Description

3 years ago
Created attachment 8484042 [details]
language_editing.png

User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/37.0.2062.94 Safari/537.36

Steps to reproduce:

I wanted to remove a language.
  1. I clicked on the delete icon
  2. I clicked on the "Delete" text
  3. I checked the checkbox next to the delete icon



Actual results:

Nothing happened.


Expected results:

The removed languages should have been removed before having to hit "Update Profile" to be consistent with adding a new language.
Hi Quentin, thanks for filing a bug and writing a great bug description! You make a spot on observation that languages are not immediately removed when you check the Delete box. We don't immediately change your profile when you check the Delete box.

On the Edit Profile page, no changes you make are saved until you click the Update button. This user interface with having checkboxes and a separate Update button is pretty common on other websites.

I am marking this as wontfix, since this is the intended behavior. If you see other odd things or issues, please do file more bugs!
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 3 years ago
Resolution: --- → WONTFIX
Version: 2014-08.1 → other
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.