Don't allow sharing devices after a call is cancelled

RESOLVED WORKSFORME

Status

Hello (Loop)
Client
RESOLVED WORKSFORME
3 years ago
3 years ago

People

(Reporter: ashughes, Unassigned)

Tracking

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Whiteboard: [good first bug] )

(Reporter)

Description

3 years ago
If I cancel a call before sharing devices, the media icon remains in the awesomebar. However, I can then click this icon to turn on my camera and mic without an active call. I'm not sure if this has any privacy implications but I don't think it's great UX.

Steps:
1. Click the Firefox Hello toolbar button
2. Open the generated URL in a new tab
3. Click "start" from the Standalone UI
4. Click "exit" from the Standalone UI
> My devices have not been shared yet and the call is ended
5. Click the camera icon in the awesomebar
6. Share my devices
> My devices are turned on, even though I'm not in a call

Note: The devices shut off when I reload the URL, load a different page, or close a tab.
Blocks: 1066019

Updated

3 years ago
backlog: --- → Fx37+

Updated

3 years ago
Whiteboard: [good first bug]
Not related to bug 1066019.

This will likely be fixed when we do bug 1073410.
No longer blocks: 1066019
Depends on: 1073410

Updated

3 years ago
Depends on: 1093787

Updated

3 years ago
No longer depends on: 1093787

Updated

3 years ago
backlog: Fx37+ → Fx38?
We fixed this a while ago in bug 1073410 and others. Partially by not allowing the cancel - the user must accept or deny the prompt. This is due to limitations in the webrtc platform which doesn't have the capability to allow the app to cancel a prompt.
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
backlog: Fx38? → ---
Last Resolved: 3 years ago
Resolution: --- → WORKSFORME
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.