"Forget" loses all my browser tabs

RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 1094736

Status

()

Firefox
General
RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 1094736
3 years ago
3 years ago

People

(Reporter: spamcombobulator, Unassigned)

Tracking

42 Branch
Points:
---

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

Attachments

(1 attachment)

(Reporter)

Description

3 years ago
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:42.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/42.0
Build ID: 20151029151421

Steps to reproduce:

With a previously restored browser session freshly opened, I visited a new website that I then wanted to be gone from my history. So while on the website's tab, I clicked "forget" and selected "5 mins". 


Actual results:

There was no warning of the potential consequences. A new browser session was opened, having just a single tab. There was no session restore available to undo the lost tabs. This led to user frustration, wailing and gnashing of teeth!


Expected results:

I was expecting all browsing done in the last 5 minutes to be deleted, and the present tab to be closed. I would expect to at least be warned if this would lose any tabs still open (though not necessarily loaded) from previous sessions long ago. 

A "forget this tab" option would be more useful.

Comment 1

3 years ago
Created attachment 8685449 [details]
Firefox 42 Forget button menu.png

(In reply to spamcombobulator from comment #0)
> There was no warning of the potential consequences.

It's the very first item under “Proceeding will:”.

Updated

3 years ago
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 3 years ago
Component: Untriaged → General
OS: Unspecified → All
Hardware: Unspecified → All
Resolution: --- → DUPLICATE
Duplicate of bug: 1094736
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.