Open
Bug 1263743
Opened 10 years ago
Updated 2 years ago
Firefox Profile Manager - Delete Profile - UI Button Text May Lead to User Error
Categories
(Toolkit :: Startup and Profile System, enhancement, P5)
Tracking
()
UNCONFIRMED
People
(Reporter: idratherbetesting, Unassigned)
Details
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/49.0.2623.110 Safari/537.36
Steps to reproduce:
1. Launch Firefox Profile Manager
2. In the Profile Manager GUI, select an existing profile.
3. Click "Delete Profile.?
Actual results:
Clicking "Deleting Profile" launches a pop-up window with a confirmation message and two options, either "Don't Delete Files" or "Delete Files."
Expected results:
Users who accidentally click Delete Profile and do not read the entirety of the confirmation text that follows on the pop-up may inadvertently click the first option on the screen, "Don't Delete Files" thinking that it means, essentially, do not delete the profile. However, the option actually does delete the Profile Name from the list. Instead of posing two messages, one in as a negative "Don't Delete Files" and one in the positive "Delete Files," suggest re-wording the text of the options to be more clear as to what the operation will carry out, such as option 1 being "Delete Profile Name Only" and option 2 being "Delete Profile Name and Data." With this clarification, users who did not intend to click delete will know to click "Cancel" to bail on the operation instead of inadvertently carrying it out.
| Reporter | ||
Updated•10 years ago
|
Severity: normal → enhancement
Component: Untriaged → Startup and Profile System
Product: Firefox → Toolkit
Updated•10 years ago
|
Priority: -- → P5
Updated•3 years ago
|
Severity: normal → S3
You need to log in
before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description
•