after upgrading start page is displayed even though disabled

VERIFIED INVALID

Status

--
minor
VERIFIED INVALID
17 years ago
14 years ago

People

(Reporter: jg, Assigned: samir_bugzilla)

Tracking

Trunk
x86
Linux

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

17 years ago
From Bugzilla Helper:
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:0.9.8+) Gecko/20020227
BuildID:    2002031115

after upgrading start page is displayed even though disabled

it goes to http://www.mozilla.org/start i checked the preferences and it was not
set to go there as it had been before I upgraded
I quit and reloaded and it did not go, so it only occures the first time after
an upgrade of mozilla

Reproducible: Sometimes
Steps to Reproduce:
1.upgrade mozilla
2.load it and see go to start page
3.

Comment 1

17 years ago
This is the expected behaviour after a new installation, and the activation page
will only load on first run. Resolving as invalid.
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 17 years ago
Resolution: --- → INVALID

Comment 2

17 years ago
v
Status: RESOLVED → VERIFIED
(Reporter)

Comment 3

17 years ago
Hi

I don't follow why it is the expected behavior?

I don't want my bandwidth being used so I have disabled the start page, and as
that box has no http proxy there is nothing to load! it gives an error thus!
Surely the disabled start page should be aheared to not ignored?

I request a 3rd opinion / consideration again.

please
JG

Comment 4

17 years ago
what about this pref:
user_pref("startup.homepage_override_url", "blah-blah-blah");
huh?
(Reporter)

Comment 5

17 years ago
Yes, that will work, but why not just implment the feature as it should be? IMO

Think about it from the users perspective, they are not going to want to hack
the prefs file are they!

If a user sets "user blank home page" thats what they expect! Not "user blank
home page in most cases but not including the time when you upgrade"

The fact that I have upgraded does not need to be anounced to me by going back
the to the mozilla.org site if I upgrade I will be perfectly aware that I have
upgraded already.

And if i upgrade a user remotly they will just get errors from no http access
and be confused un-necessaryily, even if they have http acess they will be
confused why its changed homepage etc

So to sum up, IMO it is better to allow your feature of jumping to the mozilla
site after an upgrade, but ONLY if it has been specifically enabled, I dont
think this feature is very useful for 99% of mozilla users.


JG
Product: Browser → Seamonkey
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.