Open Bug 1409419 Opened 8 years ago Updated 2 years ago

"When I delete a message: move it to this folder" setting gets messed up on restart (closing and opening), for *gmail* Trash folder.

Categories

(MailNews Core :: Networking: IMAP, defect)

defect

Tracking

(Not tracked)

People

(Reporter: d.brandon.lloyd, Unassigned)

References

Details

User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:56.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/56.0 Build ID: 20170926190823 Steps to reproduce: I have the setting Tools > Account setting > Server settings > When I delete a message > "move it to this folder" set to a subfolder in my IMAP inbox (on gmail). The designated folder displays the recycle bin icon. Then one of the frequent Thunderbird updates hits... Actual results: After an update the recycle bin icon on my designated folder reverts back to a normal folder icon. Deleting an email no longer sends it to the designated folder, even though the setting has not changed. Expected results: An update should not mess up the setting. I can fix it by switching "move it to this folder" to "just mark it as deleted", clicking the "ok" button, and switching it back "move it to this folder". Then the recycling bin icon reappears and deleting an email sends it to the designated folder.
Every update brings fresh goodness ;-) It shouldn't really mess up the setting. Gene, could to take a look.
Flags: needinfo?(gds)
I think I can confirm this, for the most part. I originally had a [Gmail]/Trash that, from what I understand, is the default imap trash. I created an Inbox/Deleted folder and set that as the deleted destination in tb and restarted tb. But when I delete it goes to [Gmail]/Trash instead. I can verify that tb is requesting the message be moved to only that folder by looking at imap log. At this point, tb seems to ignore the delete destination folder. When I restart tb and watch the folder icons, I see my new Inbox/Deleted transition from a trash can icon back to a normal folder icon. [Gmail]/Trash keeps its trash can icon. Then I set gmail account to "Just mark it as deleted" and clicked OK. Then I set it back to deleted to folder Inbox/Deleted. Now I see a stable trash can icon on Inbox/Deleted too and when I delete something in a gmail folder it goes to the specified place, Inbox/Deleted and not to [Gmail]/Trash. When I restart tb again, I again see the transient trash can icon on Inbox/Deleted and when I do a deleted, the message goes to [Gmail]/Trash and not to the specified Inbox/Deleted. So for me, a tb restart is equivalent to the reporter's tb shutdown-update-startup. Maybe the tb update is a "red herring"?
Flags: needinfo?(gds)
I can confirm that it is only the opening and closing of Thunderbird that evokes this bug. Update is a red herring.
Summary: The setting for "When I delete a message: move it to this folder" gets messed up with every update. → "When I delete a message: move it to this folder" setting gets messed up on restart (closing and opening)
Yes, there seems to be a "feature" in tb that causes tb to always use the folder that gmail says is for trash and ignores what the tb user configures as trash. A new feature is needed to to let the user override gmail's choice, similar to the way namespaces can be overridden in advanced server settings. Also, tb needs to display gmail's choice instead of showing the folder the user selected as trash in the server settings. For most users, I think gmail's choice of [Gmail]/Trash is OK. So overriding this would be a non-default setting. Note: tb doesn't know about gmail's choice until it first connects to gmail server and list all the folders and their characteristics. That's why, until a restart, the user's choice for trash is honored.
Component: Untriaged → Networking: IMAP
Product: Thunderbird → MailNews Core
Summary: "When I delete a message: move it to this folder" setting gets messed up on restart (closing and opening) → "When I delete a message: move it to this folder" setting gets messed up on restart (closing and opening), for gmail Trash folder
Version: 52 Branch → 52
Status: UNCONFIRMED → NEW
Ever confirmed: true
Summary: "When I delete a message: move it to this folder" setting gets messed up on restart (closing and opening), for gmail Trash folder → "When I delete a message: move it to this folder" setting gets messed up on restart (closing and opening), for *gmail* Trash folder.
Severity: normal → S3
See Also: → 509207
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.