Incorrect/misleading overwrite message

RESOLVED WORKSFORME

Status

SeaMonkey
Download & File Handling
--
minor
RESOLVED WORKSFORME
16 years ago
14 years ago

People

(Reporter: Nahor, Assigned: Blake Ross)

Tracking

Trunk
x86
Windows 2000

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

16 years ago
1. Start downloading a file
2. Cancel the transfert before the end.
3. Save again the same file at the same place. Mozilla ask if one wants to
overwrite the file
4. Click yes.

Actual result: the dialog manager shows up and the download resumes where it has
been cancelled previously.

Expected result:
  - Either start the download from scratch
  - Or should have asked to resume the download instead of asking to overwrite
the file

The resume is a nice feature. If I want a new download, I can use another name
for the file or delete the old one. But the overwrite message is confusing since
it doesn't actually overwrite anything since it just downloads the missing part.
QA Contact: sairuh → petersen

Comment 1

15 years ago
in my Build 2003061204, unfortunately, the message doesn't show up at all

Comment 2

15 years ago
same here with linux trunk 20030713.  the cancelled download simply resumed.

nahor: are you still seeing this problem?  if not, please mark WORKSFORME.
(Reporter)

Comment 3

15 years ago
No, it doesn't show the dialog either on my old build (20030620).
The file is deleted when the download is cancelled so there isn't any overwrite
anymore and if one do try to save on another already existing file, the content
of that file seems to be ignore anyway. Resume seems to work only on the memory
cache content.
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 15 years ago
Resolution: --- → WORKSFORME
Product: Browser → Seamonkey
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.