Merge warning dialog still displayed after all the options from disconnect was checked

VERIFIED FIXED in Firefox 63

Status

()

defect
P2
normal
VERIFIED FIXED
11 months ago
10 months ago

People

(Reporter: sflorean, Assigned: markh)

Tracking

63 Branch
Firefox 64
Unspecified
Windows 10
Points:
---

Firefox Tracking Flags

(firefox63 verified, firefox64 verified)

Details

Attachments

(1 attachment)

Environment:
Stage server - Train 118
Win 10x64

STR:

1. Log in an account on Desktop;
2. Go to Menu->Disconnect;
3. Check both options: remove Firefox sync data and remove other private data;
4. Tap on "Disconnect&Delete";
5. Sign in with a different account.

Actual results:
A merge warning dialog is displayed:
"Are you sure you want to sign in to Sync?
A different user was previously signed in to Sync on this computer. Signing in will merge this browser’s bookmarks, passwords and other settings with x mail."

Expected results:
No dialog is displayed.

Screenshot: https://i.imgur.com/xL2blyF.png
Opened here due to: https://github.com/mozilla/fxa-content-server/issues/6430
Assignee: nobody → markh
Priority: -- → P2
Comment on attachment 9003956 [details]
Bug 1484158 - prevent the sync merge warning from appearing after a sanitize. r?eoger

Edouard Oger [:eoger] has approved the revision.
Attachment #9003956 - Flags: review+
Pushed by mhammond@mozilla.com:
https://hg.mozilla.org/integration/autoland/rev/b902b6f391e3
prevent the sync merge warning from appearing after a sanitize. r=eoger
https://hg.mozilla.org/mozilla-central/rev/b902b6f391e3
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Closed: 10 months ago
Resolution: --- → FIXED
Target Milestone: --- → Firefox 64
Is this worth uplifting to beta?
Flags: needinfo?(markh)
Comment on attachment 9003956 [details]
Bug 1484158 - prevent the sync merge warning from appearing after a sanitize. r?eoger

I'm in 2 minds about requesting this - the impact is fairly minor, but the patch is so trivial I feel we might as well take it.

Approval Request Comment
[Feature/Bug causing the regression]: bug 1409208
[User impact if declined]: User may be warned their sync data will be merged when reconnecting after a disconnect.
[Is this code covered by automated tests?]: No
[Has the fix been verified in Nightly?]: Yes
[Needs manual test from QE? If yes, steps to reproduce]: No
[List of other uplifts needed for the feature/fix]: None
[Is the change risky?]: No
[Why is the change risky/not risky?]: Very small patch, limited to "disconnect sync" functionality
[String changes made/needed]: None
Flags: needinfo?(markh)
Attachment #9003956 - Flags: approval-mozilla-beta?
Comment on attachment 9003956 [details]
Bug 1484158 - prevent the sync merge warning from appearing after a sanitize. r?eoger

Minimal patch for a bug fix in a feature we recently shipped, a week on nightly with no reported regression, uplift approved for 63 beta 10, thanks.
Attachment #9003956 - Flags: approval-mozilla-beta? → approval-mozilla-beta+
Flags: qe-verify+
I managed to reproduce the issue using an older version of Nightly (2018-08-17) on Ubuntu 16.04 x64.
I retested everything using the latest Nightly 64.0a1 on Windows 10 x64, Ubuntu 16.04 x64 and macOS 10.13. The bug is not reproducing anymore. However, I could still reproduce it on beta 63.0b9. I think I have to wait till beta 63.0b10 it's up in order to verify the fix.

On the other, I've noticed that the issue is still reproducing if you update the browser from Nightly 2018-08-17 to latest Nightly. 
STR:
1. Log in with an Fx account.
2. Disconnect from sync by checking the "remove Firefox sync data" and "remove other private data" 
3. Update the browser (hamburger menu - Help - About Firefox)
4. Log into sync with another account.
 This issue is reproducing even after the browser is closed and reopened or restarted.
Flags: needinfo?(markh)
(In reply to Oana Botisan from comment #9)
> I managed to reproduce the issue using an older version of Nightly
> (2018-08-17) on Ubuntu 16.04 x64.
> I retested everything using the latest Nightly 64.0a1 on Windows 10 x64,
> Ubuntu 16.04 x64 and macOS 10.13. The bug is not reproducing anymore.
> However, I could still reproduce it on beta 63.0b9. I think I have to wait
> till beta 63.0b10 it's up in order to verify the fix.
> 
> On the other, I've noticed that the issue is still reproducing if you update
> the browser from Nightly 2018-08-17 to latest Nightly. 
> STR:
> 1. Log in with an Fx account.
> 2. Disconnect from sync by checking the "remove Firefox sync data" and
> "remove other private data" 
> 3. Update the browser (hamburger menu - Help - About Firefox)
> 4. Log into sync with another account.
>  This issue is reproducing even after the browser is closed and reopened or
> restarted.

It is expected that disconnecting from a version without the patch reproduces the issue even if the version used to sign in again has the patch.
Flags: needinfo?(markh)
I retested everything using beta 63.0b10 on Windows 10 x64, Ubuntu 16.04 x64 and macOS 10.13. The bug is not reproducing.
According to this and comment 9 and comment 10 I will mark this bug as verified fixed.
Status: RESOLVED → VERIFIED
Flags: qe-verify+
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.