Reset Client Data button deletes passords and form data
Categories
(Cloud Services :: Operations: Phabricator, defect)
Tracking
(Not tracked)
People
(Reporter: swetha, Assigned: ckolos)
Details
+++ This bug was initially created as a clone of Bug #436654 +++
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; Intel Mac OS X 10.5; en-US; rv:1.9pre) Gecko/2008053004 Minefield/3.0pre
Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux x86_64; en-US; rv:1.9b5) Gecko/2008043010 Fedora/3.0-0.60.beta5.fc9 Firefox/3.0b5
Reset Client Data, as described:
"Delete all locally stored bookmarks and history data"
But it deletes more. All of my stored passwords and form data is deleted as well. Ouch.
On top of that, syncing with weave did not restore the data that was lost. I do have the Saved Passwords, Saved Form Data, and Bookmarks items selected for syncing.
Reproducible: Always
Steps to Reproduce:
- Select the Reset Client Data button on the Advanced tab
- Then select OK on the confirmation dialog*
*Dialog box warning: "This will delete all bookmarks and history data. Are you sure you want to do this?" no mention of any other data.
Actual Results:
Previously stored passwords are removed fron the user's password database.
Expected Results:
I expect that only "all bookmarks and history data" to be deleted as per the dialog box and the description on the Advaned tab.
I strongly suggest adding options of what to delete (like the clear private data function in FF
- OR -
labeling the action properly so the user knows what to expect - OR -
fixing the problem
| Assignee | ||
Comment 1•6 years ago
|
||
absolutely the wrong project/component
Description
•