Closed Bug 1672432 Opened 1 year ago Closed 1 year ago

Permission are being removed when the Global Sharing Overlay window is being closed

Categories

(Firefox :: Site Permissions, defect, P1)

Desktop
Windows
defect

Tracking

()

VERIFIED FIXED
84 Branch
Tracking Status
firefox83 --- verified
firefox84 --- verified

People

(Reporter: danibodea, Assigned: mconley)

References

Details

Attachments

(1 file)

Note

  • All permissions are being removed when the Global Sharing Overlay window (Firefox - Sharing Indicator) is being closed.

Affected versions

  • Nigtly v84.0a1
  • Beta v83.0b2

Affected platforms

  • Windows 7 and 10

Steps to reproduce

  1. Host or join a meeting and share the Firefox window.
  2. Close the Sharing Indicator window from the taskbar.

Expected result

  • The permissions are not being removed. The call and sharing remain ongoing.

Actual result

  • The microphone, camera and screen sharing permissions are being removed.

Regression range

Additional notes

  • This issue does not occur on the MacOS platform because the Global Sharing Indicator window CANNOT be closed.

I believe this is intentional per bug 1649032. Did I misinterpret our intentions here, pbz?

Flags: needinfo?(pbz)

(In reply to Mike Conley (:mconley) (:⚙️) from comment #1)

I believe this is intentional per bug 1649032. Did I misinterpret our intentions here, pbz?

Yes, I think this is intended behavior.
Ending the stream and requiring the site to prompt again is intentional.
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1649032#c9 is a good explanation as to why.

Removing persistent camera/mic/screen permissions (user checked remember checkbox) would be an issue. But I don't think that's what the bug is about.

Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Closed: 1 year ago
Flags: needinfo?(pbz)
Resolution: --- → WONTFIX

(In reply to Mike Conley (:mconley) (:⚙️) from https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1649032#c9)

Hello dbodea,

(In reply to Bodea Daniel [:danibodea] from comment #8)

When the user closes the Global Sharing Overlay by clicking the "x" button after hovering over its taskbar entry, all the permissions are being removed (microphone, camera and screen sharing).

Yes, this was the intended behaviour.

This is definitely NOT like the behavior seen in the Chrome release or Chromium browser versions. Chrome browsers only remove the screen sharing permission when their overlay is being closed and leaves the microphone and camera sharing permissions as allowed.

This is because Chromium-based browsers only show that indicator when sharing the screen - whereas, our indicator also includes display of the microphone and camera streaming state.

I do not see the benefit of this change. Can you explain why this is necessary?

Sure, no problem. We very much want the user to associate the indicator with the sharing of all streams - display, microphone and camera. When that indicator is not open, we don't want any streams to be running. We've given the user the ability to minimize and move the indicator to get it out of the way, but we don't want to make it easy for the user to be able to sever the association between the indicator and the sharing of the streams, because we want to enforce the association. We want users to know that when the indicator is around, streams are being shared, and if the indicator is not around, no streams are being shared.

This is obviously not the case anymore considering that the default set-up of the Global Sharing Overlay is now only displayed when sharing the screen. Maybe now it should only remove the screen sharing permission when closed, not all 3 permissions. What do you think?

Flags: needinfo?(pbz)
Flags: needinfo?(mconley)

Removing persistent camera/mic/screen permissions (user checked remember checkbox) would be an issue. But I don't think that's what the bug is about.

Furthermore, the permissions are still removed (using the same STR) even if the "Remember this decision" checkbox is checked on the camera and microphone permission door hangers.

I've just tested this again, you're right. Seems like we're clearing persistent mic/camera permissions and ending their stream when the user clicks "Stop sharing" on the screen sharing indicator window or closes it via the taskbar.
That's unexpected behavior. We should only clear the permissions and stop the stream for "screen" now that we only indicate this device type being active.

I've talked to Mike, he is currently looking into the issue.

Flags: needinfo?(pbz)
Status: RESOLVED → REOPENED
Priority: -- → P1
Resolution: WONTFIX → ---

I don't think this affects 82.

Assignee: nobody → mconley
Flags: needinfo?(mconley)
Pushed by mconley@mozilla.com:
https://hg.mozilla.org/integration/autoland/rev/efba64ab92d5
Don't remove persistent device permissions when clicking 'Stop Sharing' in the WebRTC global indicator. r=pbz
Regressions: 1673772
Status: REOPENED → RESOLVED
Closed: 1 year ago1 year ago
Resolution: --- → FIXED
Target Milestone: --- → 84 Branch

Comment on attachment 9183300 [details]
Bug 1672432 - Don't remove persistent device permissions when clicking 'Stop Sharing' in the WebRTC global indicator. r?pbz!

Beta/Release Uplift Approval Request

  • User impact if declined: Users that have granted persistent permissions for the microphone and/or camera for a site will find those permissions revoked (and the devices stopped) if stopping screen sharing on the site.
  • Is this code covered by automated tests?: Yes
  • Has the fix been verified in Nightly?: No
  • Needs manual test from QE?: No
  • If yes, steps to reproduce:
  • List of other uplifts needed: None
  • Risk to taking this patch: Low
  • Why is the change risky/not risky? (and alternatives if risky): The change is quite isolated, and only involves code that's entered when sharing screens while using the new global indicator. We've added some good test coverage here, and has gotten quite a bit of manual testing.
  • String changes made/needed: None.
Attachment #9183300 - Flags: approval-mozilla-beta?

Comment on attachment 9183300 [details]
Bug 1672432 - Don't remove persistent device permissions when clicking 'Stop Sharing' in the WebRTC global indicator. r?pbz!

Has tests, P1/S2, approved for 83 beta 6, thanks.

Attachment #9183300 - Flags: approval-mozilla-beta? → approval-mozilla-beta+
Flags: qe-verify+
QA Whiteboard: [qa-triaged]

I have verified the fix in both Windows 7 and 10 and Nightly v84.0a1 and Beta v83.0b6. Thank you!

Status: RESOLVED → VERIFIED
Flags: qe-verify+
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.