Inappropriate message when compacting folders is necessary
(Thunderbird :: Untriaged, defect)
(Reporter: dannyfox, Unassigned)
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:82.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/82.0
Steps to reproduce:
MOVE or DELETE sufficient message volume to trigger message that folders should be compacted. (Triggers same message, but problem is with MOVE.)
Message used to simply suggest that compacting folders was required. Starting with 78.4.x the message now says: "The messages you have DELETED can be purged from disk..."
I panicked when I saw this after MOVING a group of large messages, thinking they had actually been deleted. True, after copying the message to the destination, the messages are then "deleted" from the source, but that is not clear or intuitive. The average user does not think about source files being deleted after copying when moving.
Either issue a separate message for MOVE to advise differently (that messages in the source folder can be purged and space recovered), or use a more generic message that is correct without being alarming. (I saw nothing wrong with the previous message, except perhaps it didn't encourage the user strongly enough do compact their folders.)
2 years ago
See also: Anje's Bug #1678856
2 years ago
I think this should be covered in bug 1678856