Closed Bug 1679210 Opened 5 years ago Closed 5 years ago

Requiring a new profile after downgrade is more destructive than what it tries to protect you from

Categories

(Toolkit :: Startup and Profile System, defect)

Firefox 82
defect

Tracking

()

RESOLVED WONTFIX

People

(Reporter: nate, Unassigned)

Details

User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:82.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/82.0

Steps to reproduce:

  1. Test a newer version of Firefox from an AppImage (https://github.com/srevinsaju/Firefox-Appimage/releases/download/stable/Firefox-83.0_20201112153044-x86_64.AppImage)
  2. Complete the test and then return to the older system-installed version

Actual results:

A dialog appears which warns of the potential for data corruption and prompts you to create a new profile or quit Firefox.

Expected results:

The user should be allowed to risk it. :)

The purpose of this feature is to prevent the possibility of data loss, but the only option it provides is to create a new profile, which makes that data loss a certainty! The medicine is worse than the disease. :)

Because losing my browsing history and bookmarks was unacceptable, I found a workaround online and ran firefox --allow-downgrade with no visible negative effects.

Bugbug thinks this bug should belong to this component, but please revert this change in case of error.

Component: Untriaged → Startup and Profile System
Product: Firefox → Toolkit

This has been gone over a couple of times and while we've relaxed the criteria somewhat this is how we intend it to work.

Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Closed: 5 years ago
Resolution: --- → WONTFIX

Then the intention is incorrect. :)

As I pointed out, the thing it does to protect you is worse than what it's trying to protect you from.

Keep in mind that if you are receiving a large volume of complaining about this, it may be another sign that something isn't right and the decision should be revisited. :)

Since there is in fact a hidden CLI option to take the risk, perhaps the GUI dialog could expose this option with a big warning on it that you're on your own if there are any problems.

You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.