Tab showing PDF attachment not closed when original message is moved or deleted, PDF tab empty after restart
Categories
(Thunderbird :: Mail Window Front End, defect)
Tracking
(thunderbird_esr91? affected, thunderbird92 affected)
People
(Reporter: jose, Unassigned)
References
Details
STR:
Open PDF attachment from (local) message. Opens in new tab.
Move or delete the message.
Expected:
Tab showing PDF should close.
Comment 1•5 years ago
|
||
Why shouldn't it stay open?
| Reporter | ||
Comment 2•5 years ago
|
||
Closing the tab is the standard tab behavior. If you close the session and open it again, you get an empty tab where the PDF was. If you can make it work otherwise, fine.
Comment 3•4 years ago
|
||
(In reply to José M. Muñoz from comment #2)
Closing the tab is the standard tab behavior.
What are you comparing the standard behaviour to? I might want to open the attachment for reading later, but then archive the message.
Obviously there is the session restore issue, but the basic idea of leaving the tab open seems reasonable to me.
| Reporter | ||
Comment 4•4 years ago
|
||
What are you comparing the standard behaviour to?
Well, I compare tab behavior to tab behavior. When a message is moved or deleted, its internal URL changes and hence its tab is closed. Why would that be different for a message part which essentially uses the same URL, just with an added part query?
Off-topic: Did you have a chance to look at bug 1726134?
Comment 5•12 days ago
|
||
Confirmed with Thunderbird 153.0, Ubuntu Snap, Ubuntu 24.04.
A PDF attachment was open in a tab. The original IMAP message was later deleted because the attachment had already been saved elsewhere. Thunderbird retained/restored the attachment tab, but the PDF viewer showed “0 of 0” and an empty page. Saving from this stale tab created a 0-byte PDF file.
The original attachment itself was valid and complete; it could still be extracted from the local mailbox data.
Expected: Thunderbird should either close the attachment tab when the source message is deleted, or show a clear error and disable saving instead of creating a 0-byte file.
Description
•