Open Bug 1732871 Opened 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago

Changing severity resets priority even if the user explicitly selects it

Categories

(bugzilla.mozilla.org :: Bug Creation/Editing, defect)

defect

Tracking

()

People

(Reporter: marco, Unassigned)

References

Details

In bug 1732344, I changed the severity from S1 to S3, but did not intend to change the priority.
The priority was automatically reset to "--", https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1732344#c3.

STR:

  1. Open an S1 bug with a priority set to P1
  2. Change S1 to S2
  3. See that, in the UI, the priority changes to "--"
  4. Change the priority to P1
  5. Save changes

I expected the priority to be left at P1 since I explicitly selected it, but instead it was reset to "--".

This is probably also reproducible with other priority values.

This is due to bug 1690205 and was part of the original request to explicity clear the priority field if severity changed away from S1. You should be able to put it back to P1 after committing the initial severity change but I admit the extra step is annoying. The person who requested these rule put in place is still on leave so I will need to discuss with glob on how to proceed with making this less annoying.

(In reply to David Lawrence [:dkl] from comment #1)

This is due to bug 1690205 and was part of the original request to explicity clear the priority field if severity changed away from S1. You should be able to put it back to P1 after committing the initial severity change but I admit the extra step is annoying. The person who requested these rule put in place is still on leave so I will need to discuss with glob on how to proceed with making this less annoying.

One possibility to is to only clear the priority field in the UI (with warning) but allow the user to manually change the priority back or to a different value.

You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.