Closed Bug 1743697 Opened 8 months ago Closed 18 days ago

PGP key manager keeps even multiple selection of items after deletion, which can end up in unintended deletion of more keys.

Categories

(MailNews Core :: Security: OpenPGP, defect, P2)

Thunderbird 91

Tracking

(thunderbird_esr102+ fixed)

RESOLVED FIXED
104 Branch
Tracking Status
thunderbird_esr102 + fixed

People

(Reporter: jschoett, Assigned: mkmelin)

Details

(Keywords: ux-error-prevention, ux-mode-error)

Attachments

(1 file)

User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:94.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/94.0

Steps to reproduce:

  1. Open PGP key manager window
  2. Select a key
  3. Delete the item using the 'Del' key

Actual results:

Item is deleted but another item is selected.

Especially if more items are selected, after deletion, other items are selected randomly.

Expected results:

The selection should disappear after deletion.

!! If I selected and deleted many items, it feels like no items were deleted (if the list keeps the selection) – and then I would press 'Del' again and delete the wrong items inadvertently!

Thanks jschoett for highlighting this problem.
Confirming based on comment 0, which is clear and plausible.
This is a datalossy UX error prevention fail, which can easily induce the user to delete more keys than intended, especially in the multiple-selection scenario. Also, if you press DEL key just a little too long, it will probably proceed to delete other keys which were not originally selected. Imo reporter is right that we must not select random other keys after deleting keys from the list. Instead, selection must be cleared after deletion.

Severity: -- → S2
Status: UNCONFIRMED → NEW
Component: Preferences → Security: OpenPGP
Ever confirmed: true
Priority: -- → P2
Product: Thunderbird → MailNews Core
Whiteboard: [datalossy]
Summary: PGP key manager keeps selection of items after deletion → PGP key manager keeps even multiple selection of items after deletion, which can end up in unintended deletion of more keys.

It's pretty normal behavior that the next item is selected once something (like an email in a list) is deleted.
There is also a confirmation dialog you have to click through, so very little risk of accidental duplicate deletion.

For multi-select + delete I agree there's an odd behavior after confirmation.

Whiteboard: [datalossy]
Assignee: nobody → mkmelin+mozilla
Status: NEW → ASSIGNED

Pushed by mkmelin@iki.fi:
https://hg.mozilla.org/comm-central/rev/b9de230b62e3
After deleting OpenPGP keys, clear the tree selection. r=kaie

Status: ASSIGNED → RESOLVED
Closed: 18 days ago
Resolution: --- → FIXED
Target Milestone: --- → 104 Branch

Comment on attachment 9286352 [details]
Bug 1743697 - After deleting OpenPGP keys, clear the tree selection. r=kaie

[Approval Request Comment]
Regression caused by (bug #): not a regression
User impact if declined: can cause user error
Testing completed (on c-c, etc.): beta
Risk to taking this patch (and alternatives if risky): safe

Attachment #9286352 - Flags: approval-comm-esr102?

Comment on attachment 9286352 [details]
Bug 1743697 - After deleting OpenPGP keys, clear the tree selection. r=kaie

[Triage Comment]
Approved for esr102

Attachment #9286352 - Flags: approval-comm-esr102? → approval-comm-esr102+
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.