"Clear History" is not respected by the back button

VERIFIED DUPLICATE of bug 162599

Status

VERIFIED DUPLICATE of bug 162599
16 years ago
14 years ago

People

(Reporter: mps, Assigned: samir_bugzilla)

Tracking

Trunk
x86
Windows XP

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

16 years ago
User-Agent:       Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.0.0) Gecko/20020530
Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.0.0) Gecko/20020530

After hitting "Clear History", the browser back button should be disabled
(because the history is supposedly cleared!). In fact, hitting the back button
accesses the supposedly cleared history. Presumably, history has been cleared
because it is not desired to be maintained.

Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Browse a few pages
2. Edit/Preferences/History/Clear History
3. Hit the browser back button.

Actual Results:  
Goes to earlier pages.

Expected Results:  
Back button should be disabled
The history you clear in preferences is global history (which is maintained
across startups) not session history.  There is no way to clear session history
without closing a window, as far as I can tell.
(Reporter)

Comment 2

16 years ago
I understand that, but the behavior doesn't seem to reflect the user's intent.
For example, the button is labeled "Clear History," not "Clear Global History
but Leave Session History Intact". The button needs to clear the Session History
as well.
THis is global history.
Assignee: radha → jaggernaut
Component: History: Session → History: Global

Comment 4

16 years ago
Actually, this seems to be a "bug" or RFE rather shared between XPApps and
session history, to make "Clear History" not only clear the global history, but
also the session history, and making sure the buttons get updated.

Over to XPApps for now.
Assignee: jaggernaut → sgehani
Component: History: Global → XP Apps
QA Contact: claudius → paw

Comment 5

16 years ago
reporter: can you please collect a list of browsers and versions and report
which do what you want and which do what we do?

i'm opposed to this, if someone actually wants to clear sessions history then
they should quit their browser.  afaik browsers have treated these two things as
distinct items and it would surprise users if we changed this behavior. it would
also result in considerable dataloss in those situations. that said please
followup in the other bug.

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of 162599 ***
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 16 years ago
Resolution: --- → DUPLICATE

Comment 6

16 years ago
v
Status: RESOLVED → VERIFIED
Product: Core → Mozilla Application Suite
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.