ctrl + shift + t in a private browsing
Categories
(Firefox :: Untriaged, defect)
Tracking
()
People
(Reporter: mateus_pscheidt, Unassigned)
Details
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:97.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/97.0
Steps to reproduce:
In a normal browsing when the person select "CTRL + SHIFT + P" open a private browsing that theoretically don't save anything in the history, but if the person have more guides opened, and close some guide, and then select "CTRL + SHIFT + T" makes reopen the guide closed. It must works in a normal browsing, and don't in a private guide
Actual results:
When someone select "CTRL + SHIFT + T" makes reopen the guide closed in a private guide, or be, it's a history from the lasted page closed
Expected results:
"CTRL + SHIFT + T" must just work in a normal browsing (normal window), and not in a private browsing
Comment 1•4 years ago
|
||
This is intentional. See bug 1274537 comment 3 for the reasoning:
The undo is quite useful in private browsing mode, just as it is in normal browsing mode.
Further, PB mode's purpose / threat model is only about not storing
persistent data on the local machine (ie, on disk), such that exiting PB
mode leaves no traces. It's not for protection against someone walking up to
a computer with a window left open.Also note that getting rid of Undo Close Tab would not help, due to other
data kept for the life of the window. For example, if you log into GMail,
close the tab (but not the PB window), you'll still be logged in if you open
GMail in a new tab. The window needs to be closed to prevent this and other
issues.
Description
•