some preference revert to old value when switching to and back from other sub-panels

RESOLVED FIXED

Status

SeaMonkey
MailNews: Account Configuration
--
minor
RESOLVED FIXED
15 years ago
13 years ago

People

(Reporter: Midori Sama, Assigned: (not reading, please use seth@sspitzer.org instead))

Tracking

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

15 years ago
User-Agent:       Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.3a) Gecko/20021212
Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.3a) Gecko/20021212

Insome cases, if you change some setting for an account and then you change page
to see other settings (same or other account), if you come back before you press
OK button, some setting was reverted to the original value.


Reproducible: Sometimes

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Create a new account, POP3
2. go to the account manager and select the new account (select first settings page)
3. Check OR unchek the chekbox "Compose messages in HTML format" (default should
be checked)
4. Change to any other settings page.
5. Come back to the page where you made the change: account manager should
forgot the change you have made
6. Made the change again and press OK button
7. Now, back to the account manager
8. Select again same account
9. Select "server Settings"
10. Change the state of the chekbox "Check for new messages every"
11. change to another page and the come back
12. the state of the check box is reverted to old value

Actual Results:  
Account Manager forget some setting: when you made a change and go to another
settings page the change is gone...
If you make the change and press OK before changing to any other page, then
account manager save the change that you have made and the problem never come back.
That is true only for some setting (expecially checkboxes that are checked by
defgault)

Expected Results:  
Account manager should remember all changes and save them when you press OK or
discard them when you press Cancel.

I'm making some other tests. The problem is present also in:
in the "Copies & Folders" settings page, "Place a copy in:" check box

I think that that problem affect any checkbox that is checked as default value.

The workaround seem to be that: you should make yous changes without passing to
another settings page.
Also seem to works: if you made a change, never cam back to pages where changes
have been made; instead, when finished, click OK: looks like that changes
reverts to the original value only if you come back (maybe to chek them before
save them).

Comment 1

15 years ago
Can confirm this bug with 2003032611 on Windows and different builds including
2003033122 on Linux.

Please note that this revert only applies it the checkbox was checked when
entering the Account Settings (see description in bugs 193182 and 195036)!

I could reproduce the bug in every checkbox in the panels "Disk Space", "Server
Settings" and the top panel of each account. It not occurs in the panels "Disk
Space" and "Offline & Disk Space".
Status: UNCONFIRMED → NEW
Ever confirmed: true
OS: Windows 2000 → All
Summary: some preference revert to old value when you select any other settings page → some preference revert to old value when switching to and back from other sub-panels

Comment 2

15 years ago
*** Bug 193182 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***

Comment 3

15 years ago
*** Bug 195036 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
mass re-assign.
Assignee: racham → sspitzer
(Reporter)

Comment 5

15 years ago
Hey, this bug should be closed: I think that it was fixed since 1.3
(Reporter)

Comment 6

14 years ago
This bug was fixed. I'm closing it
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 14 years ago
Resolution: --- → FIXED
Product: Browser → Seamonkey
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.