Split criteria of "Leave on Server/Until..." setting into separate "until deleted" and "until moved from Inbox"

RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 226839

Status

MailNews Core
Networking: POP
--
enhancement
RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 226839
15 years ago
9 years ago

People

(Reporter: eric gorr, Assigned: Scott MacGregor)

Tracking

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

15 years ago
User-Agent:       Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X Mach-O; en-US; rv:1.6b) Gecko/20031208
Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X Mach-O; en-US; rv:1.6b) Gecko/20031208

In the Server Settings for a mail account, there is the preference:

  Leave messages on server

    Until I delete or move them from inbox

Now, I would like to be able to have messages removed from the server if I
delete them. However, if I move them from my inbox, I would like the messages to
remain on the server. 

So, I would like to see this preference split into two different preferences.
The user should have the ability to:

  Leave message on server
    For at most 'x' days
    Until I delete it
    Until I move it from the inbox


Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1.
2.
3.

Comment 1

14 years ago
I can't find any open Tunderbird bug for this...

Platform --> ALL
OS --> ALL

With out any objects
Status --> New
OS: MacOS X → All
Hardware: Macintosh → All
(Reporter)

Comment 2

14 years ago
So, can the status of this bug be moved to New? 
I would love to see this change made by version 1.0....

Comment 3

14 years ago
I also would like such functionality.

Comment 4

13 years ago
This issue is the one thing that I noticed right away in switching from Outlook
Express to Thunderbird.  This needs changed as suggested.   Outlook does this
correctly.

I started a thread in the Thunderbird features forum about this before being
pointed to this bug report.   As it is I can not use the option "Until I delete
or move the item from my inbox", due to the "move" part of this.   This should
be separated from the delete option.   I really want the delete option, but
NEVER want the move to remove an item from the server.

Please consider this change for inclusion in a eminent release.

Kirk Beaty

Comment 5

13 years ago
Deleting from server when message is trashed should be an option for POP3
accounts, like it is in Eudora.

Updated

13 years ago
Status: UNCONFIRMED → NEW
Component: Preferences → Account Manager
Ever confirmed: true

Comment 6

13 years ago
See also bug 140489, bug 268392.
Component: Account Manager → Networking: POP
Product: Thunderbird → Core
Summary: Don't remove from server when message moved from inbox → Split criteria of "Leave on Server/Until..." setting into separate "until deleted" and "until moved from Inbox"
Version: unspecified → Trunk

Comment 7

13 years ago
*** Bug 195184 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***

Comment 8

13 years ago
Please fix this (at last) ... would help a lot!

Wouldn't have to download all the junk at home as well. The option as it is is useless for anybody who reads mail at work and at home (and moves mail to folders) --> many people.

Comment 9

13 years ago

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of 226839 ***
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 13 years ago
Resolution: --- → DUPLICATE
Product: Core → MailNews Core
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.