Templates deleted after sending

RESOLVED FIXED in Thunderbird1.1

Status

--
major
RESOLVED FIXED
14 years ago
13 years ago

People

(Reporter: bugzilla, Assigned: Bienvenu)

Tracking

({fixed1.8})

unspecified
Thunderbird1.1
x86
Windows 2000
fixed1.8

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

Attachments

(1 attachment)

(Reporter)

Description

14 years ago
User-Agent:       Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.7.3) Gecko/20041014 Firefox/0.10.1
Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.7.3) Gecko/20041014 Firefox/0.10.1

In the moment Thunderbird deletes a template after it has been send the first
time. So it you want to use a template more than one time, you have to recover
it every time you've used it

Reproducible: Always
Steps to Reproduce:
1. Create a template
2. Use the template and send the mail
3. Go to the template folder

Actual Results:  
Thunderbird has deleted the template

Expected Results:  
The template should be in the template folder until it has been deleted manualy

Comment 1

14 years ago
I also see this in Seamonkey Build 2005051105 and 2005050305.  

Templates are now treated like drafts.  Only one version is saved, overwriting
previous versions, and they are DELETED when the mail is sent.

Is this CORE or should I file a separate Seamonkey Bug?

Could this be file corruption since it's not being widely reported?

Clarified description
Status: UNCONFIRMED → NEW
Ever confirmed: true
Summary: No longer delete templates after sending → Templates deleted after sending
(Assignee)

Comment 2

14 years ago
are you saving the template as a draft? Did you really encounter this in 1.7.3,
or is it just trunk builds? If it's in trunk builds, do you have auto-save
turned on? I can't reproduce this myself...

Comment 3

14 years ago
> are you saving the template as a draft? 
No, I am using File/SaveAs/Template to save a message I am working on so that I
can send it multiple times without it disappearing from the Templates folder

> Did you really encounter this in 1.7.3, or is it just trunk builds? 
This is a new problem in trunk builds since 20050419 in my experience

> If it's in trunk builds, do you have auto-save turned on? 
Automatically Save... in Preferences/Mail & Newsgroups/Composition is not checked.

Comment 4

13 years ago
It also "moves" templates to drafts when your just editing an email and then 
you decide to bail on the email it ask you if you wan to save it as a draft, if 
you say yes it moves the template to drafts, you dont want the template moved 
just the rough draft "based" on the template. 
(Assignee)

Updated

13 years ago
Assignee: mscott → bienvenu
(Assignee)

Comment 5

13 years ago
Created attachment 197940 [details] [diff] [review]
proposed fix

This makes it so we always create a new template when saving as template, which
is what 1.0 did as well...
Attachment #197940 - Flags: superreview?(mscott)

Updated

13 years ago
Target Milestone: --- → Thunderbird1.1

Comment 6

13 years ago
Comment on attachment 197940 [details] [diff] [review]
proposed fix

if you want to let this bake on the trunk first go ahead, but it looks safe
enough to go right into the branch
Attachment #197940 - Flags: superreview?(mscott)
Attachment #197940 - Flags: superreview+
Attachment #197940 - Flags: approval1.8b5+
(Assignee)

Comment 7

13 years ago
I'll check this into the branch soon, tomorrow, probably.
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 13 years ago
Resolution: --- → FIXED
(Assignee)

Updated

13 years ago
Keywords: fixed1.8
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.