User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Win98; en-US; rv:1.7.6) Gecko/20050223 Firefox/1.0.1 Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Win98; en-US; rv:1.7.6) Gecko/20050223 Firefox/1.0.1 After accidentally deleting an RSS feed account in the left column view, it is possible to drag it back into place again, but with changed behaviour. Next time the feed source sends data, the story summary does not show in the bottom right view pane, although the story title appears as normal in the top right view pane. This happens every time, and there is nowhere to check on the settings as for an ordinary email account. I have set the RSS feeds to not collect the whole story or webpage, just a summary of it. After deleting the account fully to try to re-sign for the feed, more than one copy of each message is received. Having a "Confirm Delete?" dialog box would reduce accidental deletions (I have done this twice now) but the bug still exists too in both versions 1.0 and in 1.0.1. Reproducible: Always Steps to Reproduce: 1. Set up RSS feed and have it working; 2. Highlight account name in left view pane and click on delete button; 3. Drag deleted account from Trash back to its original position. Actual Results: RSS feeds lost their story summary, but kept their title. Expected Results: RSS feeds when "undeleted" should be totally reinstated, so that both summary and title are received from RSS feed senders. It is too easy to delete an account without a dialog. After deletion it is impossible to reinstate things as they were. After setting up the old account again, more than one copy of each feed item were intermittently received (from bbcnews.com). This further indicates a problem with the account deletion mechanism.
Just to add clarity to the issue through elimination of similar behaviours, I dragged a single RSS feed item into Trash then returned it to its original folder and the test remained. I did the same using the Delete button rather than d n d and had the same outcome. It has to be the entire account that is dragged or deleted to Trash to recreate the bug. Oh, and the Trash bin doesn't empty automatically either, but I guess that's another issue.
*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of 267082 ***
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 14 years ago
Resolution: --- → DUPLICATE
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.