If I modify the inclusions/exclusions lists for a flag type, and the change causes existing flags to get deleted (because they are in product/component combos no longer on the inclusions list or newly on the exclusions list), I should get warned before the deletion so I have a chance to cancel it. Ideally, this should be a message inserted into the form which I can read or ignore without stopping rather than an intermediary page or prompt that forces me to stop and dismiss or submit it.
Taking this as it has bitten me a couple times now with flags being mistakenly lost and manually having to be recreated using the bug activity. dkl
Assignee: attach-and-request → dkl
Status: NEW → ASSIGNED
Target Milestone: --- → Bugzilla 4.4
We are going to branch for Bugzilla 4.4 next week and this bug is either too invasive to be accepted for 4.4 at this point or shows no recent activity. The target milestone is reset and will be set again *only* when a patch is attached and approved. I ask the assignee to reassign the bug to the default assignee if you don't plan to work on this bug in the near future, to make it clearer which bugs should be fixed by someone else.
Target Milestone: Bugzilla 4.4 → ---
I was affected by this this weekend. We lost 17,000 records for a flag and we had no idea how without hours of research, finally narrowing it down to an administrator removing all our products from a whitelist we had, and then adding the ANY/ANY product/component combination to cover all products we had. In doing so, Bugzilla deleted 17,000 existing records we needed as part of our history. My request is 2 part: 1. There should be an audit event on the Bug history for flag removal, no matter what effectuates the changes. (We thought someone had accidentally run a query to delete the flags, because the Bug history had no record of the change). 2. Why remove the flags anyway? When you disable a custom field, it doesn't delete the data, it only removes it from view on the bug. Shouldn't flags work in a similar notion? Personally, because of the risk of unintentional data loss, I'd bump this up in priority (It was logged in 2005). At the very least, perhaps we could alter the page documentation to alert/inform the user that removing a product for inclusion, or adding to exclusion, will result in the deletion of data? To any parties getting here through their own personal tragedy: we too were able to reconstruct and reinsert all of our missing records by using the Bug history to determine what flags should be set where.
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.