Saving a frameset as HTML only should warn/hint user

NEW
Unassigned

Status

()

--
enhancement
14 years ago
6 years ago

People

(Reporter: jmd, Unassigned)

Tracking

Trunk
Points:
---

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Whiteboard: [wontfix?])

(Reporter)

Description

14 years ago
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X Mach-O; en-US; rv:1.8b4) Gecko/20050829
Firefox/1.0+

Saving a frameset in "HTML only" save mode, particularly one without any
<noframes> content, should somehow alert the user to the fact that not anything
much is actually being saved. I'm not sure if "hidden" frames are automaticlly
detectable, but as they are becoming rather prevalent, it's very easy to think
you're saving the page you see before you, only to be saving a few <frame> tags
and nothing else.

E.g.:
A medium sized bank (Charter One) uses hidden frames for all of the content on
its online banking site (https://www.charteroneonline.com/), and I ran into this
potentially serious problem in my attempt to save an account's history for
backup. If I hadn't tried to 'diff' the new copy to an old backup, I would have
never realized that I saved none of the content of the page I was at. And *I*
actually know what a frameset is, as opposed to most web users, who this could bite.
Severity: normal → enhancement
OS: Mac OS X → All
Hardware: PowerPC → All
Version: 1.5.0.x Branch → Trunk

Updated

6 years ago
Whiteboard: [wontfix?]
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.