Closed Bug 312431 Opened 16 years ago Closed 12 years ago

[RFE] Remind user in the Account Wizard that POP3 accounts default to download-and-delete

Categories

(Thunderbird :: Mail Window Front End, enhancement)

enhancement
Not set
normal

Tracking

(Not tracked)

RESOLVED WORKSFORME

People

(Reporter: bugzilla, Unassigned)

References

Details

User-Agent:       Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X Mach-O; en-US; rv:1.7.11) Gecko/20050727
Build Identifier: Thunderbird version 1.5 Beta 1 (20050908)

 The comments in Bug 231541 and Bug 112356 indicate that, for whatever reason, a
significant number of users don't expect POP3 accounts to download-and-delete by
default. If users were warned in the Account Wizard (setup dialog) that
Thunderbird's POP3 account default behaviour is to download-and-delete messages
from the server then users would not be unpleasantly surprised by it.

 I would like to request that a short reminder about the POP3 default and a
reference to the Account Settings dialog where the default may be changed be
placed in the Account Wizard. An appropriate place for such a reminder might be
the final page, directly below the "Download messages now" checkbox.


Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
OS: MacOS X → All
Hardware: Macintosh → All
As bug 270743 has been fixed, is there any reason to leave this RFE open?
yes, I think we should leave this open - if you prefer leave on server, you have no way of specifying that from the wizard, and really no way of knowing that messages will be deleted from the server if you download new mail.
QA Contact: front-end
just coming from bug 112356 i'm going to start working on a way to fit this in the new account wizard.

Account wizard changes at this page:
http://wiki.mozilla.org/MailNews:Account_Wizard:Email

A second check box for "Do not delete messages from server" next to the "Download messages now" box would be minimally sufficient. 

A note explaining the pitfalls of this selection would be nice, and would answer the criticism of those who feel the risk of filling up the server's mail box is a greater evil than the unanticipated deletion of mail off the server.
When bug 422814 lands the Thunderbird account will be defaulting toward leaving messages on the server by default.  This can likely be closed at that point.
Depends on: autoconfig
Instead of making a contentious change to the default behaviour, why not incorporate this request into the UI changes associated with Bug 422814?
This request is about the current Account Manager and I believe we can handle this kind of change in a different way that gives users the same amount of flexibility and doesn't get in the way of a common use case for new users.

bug 455681 should have discussion about a post account creation reminder very similar to this request except that it is done after account creation and not during.
(In reply to comment #5)
> When bug 422814 lands the Thunderbird account will be defaulting toward leaving
> messages on the server by default.  This can likely be closed at that point.

So autoconf landed. closing WFM
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Closed: 12 years ago
Resolution: --- → WORKSFORME
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.