PromptOnSanitize ( Ask me before clearing private data ) setting displays improperly

RESOLVED WORKSFORME

Status

()

--
major
RESOLVED WORKSFORME
13 years ago
9 years ago

People

(Reporter: matthew.flaschen, Unassigned)

Tracking

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

13 years ago
User-Agent:       Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5
Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5

In the Settings dialog for the "Clear Private Data" tool, there is an option stating "Ask me before clearing private data."  The option is checked by default.  Correspondingly, there is a "prefs.js"/about:config option for " privacy.sanitize.promptOnSanitize ".  It is true by default, as expected.  The checkbox can be modified in the dialog as long as "Saved Passwords" is not selected (I object to that behavior as a matter of principle, but that is not the precise subject of this bug).  If the "Ask me" checkbox is changed, the associated about:config entry changes as well.  Changes to the about:config entry are also reflected in the dialog.  However, when "Saved Passwords" is checked, the "Ask me" checkbox is always checked and grayed out.  When the dialog is closed in this state, the about:config is changed to the default automatically. However, when "Passwords" is the about:config setting can still be manually changed; this change will affect actual behavior.  Firefox will stop prompting about this.  The problem is that the grayed out checkbox does not change.  Therefore, opening up the dialog to check the setting yields the wrong result.  It is true that if the user clicks okay, the setting will be reset.  However, if they see that it is checked and cancel out, they will have been deceived.  I am marking the bug major because it could conceivably contribute to someone losing irreplaceable data without an expected confirmation.

Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Select "Saved Passwords" in the "Clear Private Data" tool.
2. Click OK
3. Go to about:config.
4. Change privacy.sanitize.promptOnSanitize to false.
5. Go back to the dialog.

Actual Results:  
"Ask me before clearing private data." is checked and grayed out.

Expected Results:  
It should be unchecked.  I don't care much about whether it is grayed out, though I don't think it ever should be.

Comment 1

13 years ago
This is done on purpose: http://bonsai.mozilla.org/cvsblame.cgi?file=mozilla/browser/components/preferences/sanitize.js&mark=40-48#40

It would not be good for someone to be able to remove all their passwords without confirming it.
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 13 years ago
Resolution: --- → INVALID
(Reporter)

Comment 2

13 years ago
I explained very clearly.  I don't object to forcing the user to keep notification on.  My complaint is different.  Look at the "Steps to reproduce" section.  The box will always display checked.  However, if the user has manually changed the setting, this display will be wrong.  If they cancel out, they will expect a confirmation that will not come.  

Here is the right way to accomplish this goal: 

1. Show the actual state of the setting when the dialog is opened.
2. If "Saved Passwords" is checked but confirmation is not on, do not allow the dialog to be closed until the user turns confirmation on or passwords off and clicks OK.
3. If they attempt to do close without doing so, alert them and block the close.
4. Have a prefs.js setting to turn this behavior off.
Status: RESOLVED → UNCONFIRMED
Resolution: INVALID → ---
(Reporter)

Comment 3

13 years ago
By "this behavior" I mean "blocking the close until these conditions are met")

Comment 4

9 years ago
Matthew, do you still consider this to be an issue?
(Reporter)

Comment 5

9 years ago
No.  Firefox 1.5 is EOL, and the interface for this feature in current versions of Firefox is quite different.
(Reporter)

Updated

9 years ago
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 13 years ago9 years ago
Resolution: --- → WORKSFORME
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.