duplicate bookmark files saved

RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 294584

Status

()

RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 294584
13 years ago
13 years ago

People

(Reporter: sunja, Unassigned)

Tracking

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

13 years ago
User-Agent:       Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X Mach-O; en-US; rv:1.8.0.4) Gecko/20060508 Firefox/1.5.0.4
Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X Mach-O; en-US; rv:1.8.0.4) Gecko/20060508 Firefox/1.5.0.4

After quiting each time Firefox saves a duplicate of the current bookmarks file in the user profile directory. It does not delete any previous backups, and so the user profile directory quickly fills up with copies of the bookmark file. Which after a bit can become rather untidy and space consuming.

Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Start Firefox, surf, quit firefox.
2. Open your ~/Library/Application Support/Firefox/Profiles/.directory
3. inside there will be a new bookmark file inaddition to your current one and any previous copies

Actual Results:  
there will be a new bookmark file named bookmarks-1.html, bookmarks-2.html, bookmarks-3.html, etc... at each quit of the application.

Expected Results:  
1. the backup copy should be deleted with every restart of firefox.
2. or a limited number of backups should be kept... maybe 5 and the rest deleted with each restart


i assume that its meant to save a backup incase your bookmarks file is corrupted in your current session, and then replace the old backup with a new one when firefox quits. but this isn't whats happening.
No, those aren't the intended backups, those are Spotlight or another scanning program keeping the file locked when we're trying to save to it.

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of 294584 ***
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 13 years ago
Resolution: --- → DUPLICATE
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.