HTTP authentication pop-up should not default to save password, or should remember you said no last time

VERIFIED WORKSFORME

Status

Camino Graveyard
Security
--
enhancement
VERIFIED WORKSFORME
11 years ago
11 years ago

People

(Reporter: Raul Acevedo, Assigned: dveditz)

Tracking

Details

(Reporter)

Description

11 years ago
User-Agent:       Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X Mach-O; en-US; rv:1.8.0.10) Gecko/20070228 Camino/1.0.4
Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X Mach-O; en-US; rv:1.8.0.10) Gecko/20070228 Camino/1.0.4

When I visit a web site using HTTP authentication, the "Store this password in the keychain" option to the username/password pop-up should not default to enabled.  Even if it is, and I disable it, it should remember the next time the site is visited.

Reason?  I do not want Camino to remember the password for some sites for some very sensitive sites, and I'm afraid that if it always defaults to having this option checked, I'm going to one day forget to uncheck it.  It already happened once.

Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1.  Enter any site requiring HTTP authentication.
2.  The username/password pop-up has "save password" checked by default.
3.  Uncheck it and login to the site.
4.  Restart Camino.
5.  Visit the site again.
Actual Results:  
The "save password" option is checked, even though last time I logged in with it unchecked.

Expected Results:  
It should remember that I desired to not have the password remembered for this site, and have it unchecked next time.  Likewise if I check it, it should remember that too.

This wouldn't be so bad if I could TAB over to get to that checkbox, but I can't, so it's especially easy to hit ENTER without disabling it.  I think the first time I mistakenly did this it was because I hit TAB expecting to land on the checkbox.

Comment 1

11 years ago
(In reply to comment #0)
> It should remember that I desired to not have the password remembered for this
> site, and have it unchecked next time.  Likewise if I check it, it should
> remember that too.

The nightly builds behave that way (defaults to off until you save a password, then defaults to on), as will the upcoming release. Closing WFM since I can't remember which bug I changed that behavior in.
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 11 years ago
Resolution: --- → WORKSFORME

Updated

11 years ago
Status: RESOLVED → VERIFIED
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.