Closed Bug 387062 Opened 18 years ago Closed 17 years ago

Website pretending to be Mozilla

Categories

(Marketing :: Trademark Violations, task)

x86
Windows XP
task
Not set
normal

Tracking

(Not tracked)

RESOLVED FIXED

People

(Reporter: cheasym, Assigned: cbrady)

References

()

Details

User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.4) Gecko/20070515 Firefox/2.0.0.4 Build Identifier: The folks at thefirefox.net are misusing the Firefox trademark. As you can see at the link I submitted to you they have stolen the main Mozilla graphics in order to confuse the customer. If you go to the main index of the web site they are almost doing the same - just to lead folks into the "Get Firefox with the Google Toolbar" clickthrough ad. Here are this guy's other Firefox Web sites (clones of this one): thefirefox.net bestfirefox.info firefoxsite.info Reproducible: Always
Noticed today that now doing a trace on the domain name, I get these results: Hop (ms) (ms) (ms) IP Address Host name 1 1 0 0 66.98.244.1 gphou-66-98-244-1.ev1servers.net 2 0 0 0 66.98.240.1 gphou-66-98-240-1.ev1servers.net 3 0 0 0 66.98.241.242 - 4 1 1 0 209.85.0.115 gphou2-209-85-0-115.ev1servers.net 5 0 1 0 209.85.63.134 vip.slavhost.ru They may have switched hosting to slavhost.ru which it a forigen web host, but slavhost.ru is hosted by an American hosting provider, theplanet.com. So if you don't hear from slavhost.ru I'd go to theplanet.com.
It looks like http://thefirefox.net is down now.
The site now looks like it is offline
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Closed: 17 years ago
Resolution: --- → FIXED
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.