The fix to bug #37251 does not take into account a condition which could lead to the installer deleting a folder unintentionally. 1) user runs the installer and selects a destination path where a previously installed seamonkey#1 has been installed (essentially an upgrade). 2) user is prompted with dialog that the installer has detected the old seamonkey installation and recommends the user to let it delete it before continuing. (the actuall deletion does not happen until after the user clicks Install in the last dialog) 3) user clicks the delete button and is shown the next dialog. 4) user changes mind and goes back to change path, and selects a different path which also contains a different old version of Seamonkey. Let's call it seamonkey#2. 5) the installer happens to not detect that it's installing ontop of an old version of Seamonkey. This is possible if the user deleted mozilla.exe, which happens to be the file that the installer keys off of to detect a previous installation. I call this situation the "dumb user factor". 6) The user continues and clicks the install button and the installer deletes the seamonkey#2 folder without warning the user. The problem is that the flag that indicates the user selected "Delete" is not being reset on each path change. The fix is a simple one line change to always set/reset the flag. This situation is extremely rare. Most users will probably not run into this at all. However, if they do, the consequences could be really bad. I have the one line fix tested, reviewed, and ready to be checked in. Just need approval now.
nominating for nsbeta2
Status: NEW → ASSIGNED
one line fix checked in. a=dveditz, r=sgehani
Status: ASSIGNED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 19 years ago
Resolution: --- → FIXED
Status: RESOLVED → VERIFIED
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.