Be nice to warn when session restore option conflicts with remove private data

NEW
Unassigned

Status

()

Firefox
Preferences
--
enhancement
10 years ago
9 years ago

People

(Reporter: Maxi, Unassigned)

Tracking

3.0 Branch
Points:
---

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

10 years ago
User-Agent:       Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9) Gecko/2008052906 Firefox/3.0
Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9) Gecko/2008052906 Firefox/3.0

If you choose "Show my windows and tabs from last time" in Tools > Options >General but at the same time enable "Always clear my private data when I close Firefox" in Tools > Options > Privacy, no tab is restored as start up.


Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Choose "Show my windows and tabs from last time" in Tools > Options >General 2. Enable "Always clear my private data when I close Firefox" in Tools > Options > Privacy, no tab is restored as start up.
3. Open some tabs
4. Close Firefox
5. Restart Firefox

Actual Results:  
No tab is restored.

Expected Results:  
This is somewhat the desired behavior, since user wants personal data deleted, but at the same time he might expect tabs to be restored (see bug #398817 and #442632). It would be nice that a warning is issue when these conflicting options are chosen. Even better, the user could be allowed to choose to clean all data but that required to restore tab.

Updated

10 years ago
Keywords: privacy

Updated

9 years ago
Status: UNCONFIRMED → NEW
Ever confirmed: true
Keywords: privacy
OS: Windows XP → All
Hardware: PC → All
Version: unspecified → 3.0 Branch

Updated

9 years ago
Depends on: 458639
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.