bugzilla.mozilla.org has resumed normal operation. Attachments prior to 2014 will be unavailable for a few days. This is tracked in Bug 1475801.
Please report any other irregularities here.

Annoying pop up window that informs me that weave is syncing after I close FF

RESOLVED WONTFIX

Status

Cloud Services
General
--
enhancement
RESOLVED WONTFIX
10 years ago
9 years ago

People

(Reporter: Noam Nelke, Unassigned)

Tracking

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

10 years ago
User-Agent:       Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9) Gecko/2008052906 Firefox/3.0
Build Identifier: 0.2.0

Since I installed the new version of weave, every time I close FF I get a "Weave is syncing" pop up. This is very annoying.

Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Close Firefox.
Actual Results:  
An annoying pop up window informs me that Weave is syncing.

Expected Results:  
Inform me about the sync in a non-intrusive way. E.g. display an icon in the windows notification area. The first time this happens a balloon can appear explaining the icon.

I probably wouldn't notice it if the syncing would take a couple of seconds, the problem is it takes longer and then there's this bug (https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=443418)...

Comment 1

10 years ago
Weave *does* sync regularly in a non-obtrusive way (once a minute, currently).  The last sync upon quitting is to catch anything you might've done at the last minute.

If you wish to disable sync on quit, you can do so by setting the extensions.weave.syncOnQuit.enabled preference to false.  Otherwise, the fix is to speed up the last sync / sync in general, for which there are several bugs filed already.

Closing as worksforme since there is a pref to disable the behavior.
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 10 years ago
Resolution: --- → WORKSFORME
(Reporter)

Comment 2

10 years ago
Why do I have to choose between loosing some data (the last minute) and not having a pop up??

What's the problem with my suggestion?

How does the non-intrusive sync every minute make up for the intrusive sync at the end?

Since I'm not a developer, but a mere user, I have no right to make demands. But I don't think I'm the only one out there who doesn't like pop ups, and I don't see why I can't disable only the pop up (rather then the last sync).

I was a Google Browser Sync user before I switched to FF3. They had an annoying pop up there, too. But there the syncing took 2-5 seconds, so it was tolerable. In Weave it can take a minute or two and that makes the pop up a lot more annoying.
Resolution: WORKSFORME → WONTFIX

Comment 3

10 years ago
The problem with the suggestion is that it doesn't solve the problem.  If the user chooses to quit Firefox and there is unsynced data, I see the following choices:

1) delay quitting, sync the changes
2) quit immediately, do not sync changes

In the case of (1), which is the current Weave behavior, it is important that the user not make any further changes during the delay period, since those changes would not get synced.  That is the main reason why we close all windows and display the dialog.  If you don't care about missing some data when quitting, then you want (2), not (1).  Thus the preference.
(Reporter)

Comment 4

10 years ago
If a user re-opens FF (during the final sync) then it will sync periodically (every minute) and again when they close FF. So no data should be lost. Actually, in such a case Weave can stop syncing (go back to the background syncing that occurs when FF is open).

Why is it important that a user be notified of the sync at the end? The only reason I see is transparency (so FF won't keep working "behind a user's back"). To that end, a notification area icon is enough in my opinion (with an explanatory balloon at the first time).

Just to be clear - What I'm suggesting is:
3) delay quitting, sync the changes, don't display a pop up, replace it with a non-intrusive notification area icon.

But most importantly: handle a case where a user re-opens FF during the "delayed quitting" (https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=443418).

Comment 5

10 years ago
What about an option to run weave silently on close, rather than popping up a dialog box?  Doesn't really seem appropriate for most short syncs.  I mean, firefox itself doesn't open up a dialog box that says "saving your session and bookmarks to disk", even though that frequently takes a few seconds, right?

Ideas for a fix:

- make 'silent final sync' an option, perhaps via about:config

- alternatively wait 10 seconds or so before popping up a dialog box, which would allow most short final syncs to take place silently in the background.  That way, the user only gets notified if there's a problem (with a slow sync or connection error)

Updated

9 years ago
Component: Weave → General
Product: Mozilla Labs → Weave
Target Milestone: -- → ---

Updated

9 years ago
Component: Weave → General
Product: Mozilla Labs → Weave
Target Milestone: -- → ---
QA Contact: weave → general
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.