If you think a bug might affect users in the 57 release, please set the correct tracking and status flags for Release Management.

Retention policy deletes all but the last x number of messages even when user server defaults is checked

RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 449714

Status

Thunderbird
General
--
critical
RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 449714
9 years ago
9 years ago

People

(Reporter: Mike Badger, Unassigned)

Tracking

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

9 years ago
User-Agent:       Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.8.1.14) Gecko/20080418 Ubuntu/7.10 (gutsy) Firefox/2.0.0.14
Build Identifier: 2008072418

Changing retention policies may cause you to unexpectedly lose email.

Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1.Modify the retention policy on the global inbox to delete all but the last X number of messages.
2. Click to a different folder and back to the inbox to verify the retention policy. 
3. Modify the retention policy on the global inbox to use server defaults. 
4. Send a new message to the account. 

Actual Results:  
The new message will display in the global inbox along with the previous X messages. However, when you click on another folder and then back to the inbox, the old retention policy is applied and only the last x number of message displays. 

Expected Results:  
If I click on the User server defaults option, all other settings should be greyed out and overridden. 

In the retention policy, you can word around this by 
1. unselecting the Use server defaults option
2. Select Don't delete any messages
3. Click on User server defaults
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 9 years ago
Resolution: --- → DUPLICATE
Duplicate of bug: 449714
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.