buildbot-configs CVS -> hg migration

RESOLVED FIXED

Status

RESOLVED FIXED
10 years ago
5 years ago

People

(Reporter: catlee, Assigned: catlee)

Tracking

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Assignee)

Description

10 years ago
Currently we have these directories in CVS's buildbot-configs directory:

automation/
           production/
           production-1.9/
           staging/
           staging-1.9/
testing/
        leaktest/
        moz2unit/
        seamonkey/
        sisyphus/
        talos/
        unittest/
        unittest-stage/
tryserver/

The automation directory, as well as testing/unittest are used by the 1.8/1.9 branches.  These can stay in CVS until the 1.8/1.9 branches die.

I'd like to start off by importing talos' perf-staging and perfmaster, as well as tryserver into our mercurial buildbot-configs repository.

The simple method would be to just add the current version of the files into buildbot-configs in the relevent directories.

We can also try and preserve history by converting the CVS repo.

My current approach so far is to convert the CVS repository with 'hg convert' and a filemap to exclude certain directories.  Then pull the newly created hg repo into the existing buildbot-configs repo, and merge.

# filemap contains:
include testing/talos
include tryserver
rename testing/talos/perf-staging talos-staging
rename testing/talos/perfmaster talos

# In CVS working copy of buildbot-configs/tools
hg convert --filemap filemap buildbot-configs

# In hg working copy
hg pull -f /path/to/tools/buildbot-configs-hg
hg merge
hg commit
(Assignee)

Comment 1

10 years ago
It helps to use a username mapping for the conversion:
# usermap contains:
anodelman%mozilla.com = Alice Nodelman <anodelman@mozilla.com>
bclary%bclary.com = Bob Clary <bclary@bclary.com>
bhearsum%mozilla.com = Ben Hearsum <bhearsum@mozilla.com>
bzbarsky%mit.edu = Boris Zbarsky <bzbarsky@mit.edu>
catlee%mozilla.com = Chris AtLee <catlee@mozila.com>
ccooper%deadsquid.com = Chris Cooper <ccooper@deadsquid.com>
gavin%gavinsharp.com = Gavin Sharp <gavin@gavinsharp.com>
jwalden%mit.edu = jwalden@mit.edu
kairo%kairo.at = Robert Kaiser <kairo@kairo.at>
karlt+%karlt.net = karlt+@karlt.net
nrthomas%gmail.com = Nick Thomas <nrthomas@gmail.com>
pavlov%pavlov.net = pavlov@pavlov.net
rcampbell%mozilla.com = Rob Campbell <rcampbell@mozilla.com>
reed%reedloden.com = Reed Loden <reed@reedloden.com>
rhelmer%mozilla.com = Rob Helmer <rhelmer@mozilla.com>
ted.mielczarek%gmail.com = Ted Mielczarek <ted.mielczarek@gmail.com>

then we do
hg convert -A usermap --filemap filemap buildbot-configs
(In reply to comment #1)
> jwalden%mit.edu = jwalden@mit.edu

Jeff Walden

> karlt+%karlt.net = karlt+@karlt.net

Karl Tomlinson

> pavlov%pavlov.net = pavlov@pavlov.net

Stuart Parmenter
I have no objections to switching the talos buildbot code from cvs to hg.  Please ensure that this gets correctly set up for production, stage and try.
(Assignee)

Comment 4

10 years ago
filemap is now:
include testing/talos
exclude testing/talos/baseliner
include tryserver
rename testing/talos/perf-staging talos-staging
rename testing/talos/perfmaster talos
rename testing/talos/tryperfmaster talos-try

The resulting repository can be found at:
http://hg.mozilla.org/users/catlee_mozilla.com/test/
(Assignee)

Comment 5

10 years ago
CVS history was merged into mercurial this morning:

changeset:   931:9aaf9bc21d69
parent:      726:5a0a4e79714e
parent:      930:42289e9631f5
user:        Chris AtLee <catlee@mozilla.com>
date:        Mon Feb 09 08:37:56 2009 -0500
summary:     Bug 474589 - Merge in buildbot-configs from CVS. r=anodelman
(Assignee)

Comment 6

10 years ago
Config files were updated on:
qm-rhel02 for perfmaster and tryperfmaster
qm-buildbot01 for perf-staging
sm-try-master and sm-staging-try-master
(Assignee)

Comment 7

10 years ago
Directories were deleted from CVS on the 13th.
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 10 years ago
Resolution: --- → FIXED
Product: mozilla.org → Release Engineering
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.