User should be not allowed to upload files to a version if the platform selection is set to "ALL"

RESOLVED WONTFIX

Status

addons.mozilla.org Graveyard
Public Pages
RESOLVED WONTFIX
9 years ago
2 years ago

People

(Reporter: krupa, Unassigned)

Tracking

Details

(URL)

Attachments

(1 attachment, 1 obsolete attachment)

v2
2.11 KB, patch
Details | Diff | Splinter Review
(Reporter)

Description

9 years ago
Steps to reproduce:
1.log into your developer account
2.Submit an add-on and choose any custom license.(my add-on name:zaphod123).Choose platform=ALL
3.Edit the addon and update details like category,description and status
4.Go back to Developer Tools and select the same add-on
5.Click on Versions and Files.
6.Choose to add files to the existing version

expected result:
User is not allowed to upload files to a version if the platform selection is set to "ALL"

Observed behavior:
User can upload files to the same version when Platform=ALL.This results in multiple buttons for the add-on for the same platform selection.
OS: Mac OS X → All

Comment 1

9 years ago
Created attachment 394876 [details] [diff] [review]
Fix

Prevents platform overlap between an existing platform and all platform versions
Assignee: nobody → rjbuild1088
Attachment #394876 - Flags: review?(clouserw)
Comment on attachment 394876 [details] [diff] [review]
Fix

I can still upload new files for any platform, even if platform=ALL already exists.
Attachment #394876 - Flags: review?(clouserw) → review-

Comment 3

9 years ago
Created attachment 395134 [details] [diff] [review]
v2

Reworked to use DB instead of filesystem
Attachment #394876 - Attachment is obsolete: true
Attachment #395134 - Flags: review?(clouserw)
fwiw, I implemented it like this intentionally because otherwise you would have to delete the existing ALL file and your version would have no files in it for the time between deleting the old file and getting the new one approved.

Comment 5

9 years ago
(In reply to comment #4)
> fwiw, I implemented it like this intentionally because otherwise you would have
> to delete the existing ALL file and your version would have no files in it for
> the time between deleting the old file and getting the new one approved.

Justin - I guess this poses the question of whether it's worth it to fix this bug.  Is there a better model than the current one to make this work?
I don't have any great ideas that won't make things super complicated.

I am fine with fixing this bug or not fixing this bug.

Updated

9 years ago
Attachment #395134 - Flags: review?(clouserw)

Comment 7

9 years ago
Alright, I'll just send this back to nobody in the event that someone else has a better way to do this.
Assignee: rjbuild1088 → nobody
And I'll wontfix it in case someone doesn't.  Thanks RJ.
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 9 years ago
Resolution: --- → WONTFIX
(Assignee)

Updated

2 years ago
Product: addons.mozilla.org → addons.mozilla.org Graveyard
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.