clicking on message in summary view shows old message before loading the clicked on message

RESOLVED WORKSFORME

Status

Thunderbird
Message Reader UI
--
minor
RESOLVED WORKSFORME
9 years ago
7 years ago

People

(Reporter: Bienvenu, Unassigned)

Tracking

(Blocks: 1 bug, {polish})

Trunk
x86
Windows Vista
polish
Dependency tree / graph

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

9 years ago
STR:

1. click on a single message so it's loaded in message pane.
2. click on a collapsed thread, so the thread summary is shown.
3. click on a message in the thread summary

We display the first message, then the message clicked on in step 3. asuth says this is because we're showing the deck with the single message and then loading the new message, but on a system with enough load, the re-display looks bad, especially if the first message is html with images, etc...

Updated

9 years ago
Severity: normal → minor
Duplicate of this bug: 546882

Comment 2

8 years ago
This is still happening in TB 3.1RC2 on Windows 7.

I would like to see the importance increased to major, as this can have serious privacy implications in certain sensitive deployments, above and beyond the annoyance factor.

If you intend to share a message with someone but they see someone else's information briefly first, you could inadvertently reveal private financial information, health information covered by HIPAA, etc.

Comment 3

8 years ago
Possible solution: once the single message part of the deck gets hidden, clear its contents immediately. Then when you went back to it, you'd just get a blank panel for a bit.
(Reporter)

Comment 4

8 years ago
(In reply to comment #3)
> Possible solution: once the single message part of the deck gets hidden, clear
> its contents immediately. Then when you went back to it, you'd just get a blank
> panel for a bit.

That's what I was thinking too. It shouldn't be too hard.
Blocks: 518869

Updated

8 years ago
Keywords: polish

Updated

7 years ago
Blocks: 535373

Comment 5

7 years ago
It looks like this is fixed, though I don't recall the bug that fixed it.
(Reporter)

Comment 6

7 years ago
yeah, this does seem to be fixed.
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 7 years ago
Resolution: --- → WORKSFORME

Comment 7

7 years ago
What build are you running where it's fixed?

I'm still seeing the problem, although the time to erase the previous content may be slightly less. Right now I'm on:

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.2.18) Gecko/20110616 Thunderbird/3.1.11

Do I need to go back to a nightly build to get the fix for now?

Comment 8

7 years ago
5.0 beta 2 should have the fix.
(Reporter)

Comment 9

7 years ago
I mean it seems to fixed in TB 5 (and I suspect that's what Jim meant)
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.