Edit Undo after IMAP Move doesn't undo, just copies message back to initial folder

RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 59688

Status

Thunderbird
General
RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 59688
8 years ago
8 years ago

People

(Reporter: Ryan May, Unassigned)

Tracking

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

8 years ago
User-Agent:       Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.2a2pre) Gecko/20090915 Namoroka/3.6a2pre
Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.4pre) Gecko/20090915 Thunderbird/3.0b4

Using an IMAP email account, I moved a message from the Inbox to a subfolder in the account.  I verified that the email was moved into the target folder.  I then selected Edit > Undo.  The message then reappeared in the inbox, however it still existed in the folder it was originally moved into.

Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1.Move email from one folder to another
2.Edit > Undo
3.Look at the contents of the folders
Actual Results:  
The message now exists in both folders

Expected Results:  
The message should only exist in the initial folder
(Reporter)

Updated

8 years ago
Blocks: 515237

Comment 1

8 years ago
What was the provider? If "gmail", than see bug 467841 #6
(Reporter)

Comment 2

8 years ago
(In reply to comment #1)
> What was the provider? If "gmail", than see bug 467841 #6

No, it was using my corporate email account.  It's an Exchange based server.

Comment 3

8 years ago
An imap protocol log might be helpful - even if Exchange doesn't support COPYUID, I think we still try to delete the original message after copying it back.

Follow these instructions for IMAP:

https://wiki.mozilla.org/MailNews:Logging

and you can e-mail me the result of reproducing the problem, after first removing/obscuring anything you don't want me to see in the log.

Comment 4

8 years ago
(In reply to comment #0)

Whereto did you move the message: 
1) a subscribed folder, or 
2) a Local Folder? 

I see different behaviour for each case: 
ad 1) the move back shows when you reopen (sync!) the folder in question; 
ad 2) works fine with me.
(Reporter)

Comment 5

8 years ago
(In reply to comment #4)
I moved the message to a subscribed folder.  Even on reopen/resync the message was not removed after the Undo operation.

Updated

8 years ago
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 8 years ago
Resolution: --- → DUPLICATE
Duplicate of bug: 59688
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.