Upon closing Thunderbird all changed mail filter rules are lost (not saved)

RESOLVED WORKSFORME

Status

Thunderbird
Mail Window Front End
--
critical
RESOLVED WORKSFORME
9 years ago
8 years ago

People

(Reporter: Michael Soliman., Unassigned)

Tracking

({dataloss})

x86
Windows XP
dataloss

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

9 years ago
User-Agent:       Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.3) Gecko/20090824 Firefox/3.5.3 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729)
Build Identifier: Version 2.0.0.23 (20090812).

Moin Moin.
Thunderbird does only save changed mail filter rules upon hitting the mail filter's "Close" Button.
Not, if its Destructor is being run, leading to a loss of rules, upon hitting Ctrl-q or "File"/"Exit" or the like.
_Tschuess,
__Michael.

Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Click on "Tools".
2. Click on "Filter...".
3. Change filter-entries.
4. Change some Mails, calendar_entries or the like (i.e., work what You have to work.).
5. Close Thunderbird.

Actual Results:  
Changes  are lost (not saved)..


Expected Results:  
Changes shloud be saved (not lost)..

How about saving the changes via some subfuntion upon hitting the Ok-Button of the "edit Filter Rule" (Backtranslated from the German title.) as well as upon entering the Window's destructor.
This is probably by design . Mark thoughts ?
Version: unspecified → 2.0

Comment 2

8 years ago
WFM in 3.1, vista. I used File|Exit to close thunderbird. Filter change is not saved only if OK was not clicked - which is expected behavior.  Perhaps this happens in v2, but I didn't test v2 and no further updates to v2 are being shipped, so closing this bug.

Note, your steps would be more clear if #3 and #5 stated what things you clicked rather than a narrative description.

If my description doesn't match your steps and you can reproduce this problem on a newer version of thunderbird, please comment in the the bug
Severity: normal → critical
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 8 years ago
Keywords: dataloss
Resolution: --- → WORKSFORME
Summary: Upon closing Thunderbird all changed mail filter rules are lost (not saved). → Upon closing Thunderbird all changed mail filter rules are lost (not saved)
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.