Closed Bug 541722 Opened 12 years ago Closed 12 years ago

updating out of date machine can cause data to be reverted

Categories

(Firefox :: Sync, defect)

defect
Not set
normal

Tracking

()

RESOLVED FIXED

People

(Reporter: huygens_25, Assigned: Mardak)

References

Details

User-Agent:       Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.2) Gecko/20100115 Firefox/3.6
Build Identifier: 1.0rc

I have a dual boot WinXP + Linux Ubuntu on my laptop plus I use several VM (using VirtualBox). I had installed and configured Weave on all those system.
As I have several accounts where it is mandatory to change the password every now and then, I have the surprise that sometimes Firefox has the old password in its "saved password safe" !?

It usually happen this way: I'm on one system and I update my password and save the changes. Then later on, I switch to another system where it synchronized my data. Everything's fine. But then, I start for example one of my VM and as I use them less often, I usually get a Weave add-on update, I install it and restart Firefox. And then, to my surprise when I check my saved passwords I usually find older versions of them...
Another way to trigger the sync problem (it happened easily with previous version of Weave, it seems that 1.0rc2 is more robust to this change) is the following. Start Firefox, sign in to Weave and activate you master password. Then log to a web account. Change the password of your web account, save the change and quit Firefox (most of the time the change is not sync to Weave yet). Go to another computer where you have another Firefox synced with Weave, start it, sign in to Weave. Go to a web site and create an account, save it into Firefox and continue browsing (or just sync Weave). Now go back to the firs computer and start Firefox and sign in to Weave. It should sync the data, and if you look at your password you have the new account stored, but for the old account where you changed the password it is back to the old one...

Reproducible: Sometimes

Steps to Reproduce:
See the details
Actual Results:  
Some password are "reset" to their older version, or some new account/password are lost.

Expected Results:  
Weave should sync password accounts independently of each others, so that it can detect and solve conflicts when updates where made from multiple sources.
I think this is a dupe...
Summary: Password sync failed → updating out of date machine can cause data to be reverted
I have this issue too, and it's confirmed by the Weave team in the 1.0 release notes (https://services.mozilla.com/sync/relnotes/1.0.html). Please accept the bug with P1 or P2 priority, it defeats the entire purpose of my using Weave.

For the record, "stale" in my case is < 1 week. Which I don't actually consider stale.
http://hg.mozilla.org/labs/weave/rev/d23ed4e04ed3
Don't have each engine reset their last sync but still have the service clear out its cached data (keys, records).
Assignee: nobody → edilee
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Closed: 12 years ago
Resolution: --- → FIXED
Target Milestone: --- → 1.1
Duplicate of this bug: 543207
Bug 543207 (marked as dupe of this):
Not fixed. Today it happen again.
Hundreds of half-year-ago-deleted bookmarks are back!
I have a work over night.
Good by Firefox. Switching to Chromium.
(In reply to comment #0)
> Another way to trigger the sync problem (it happened easily with previous
> version of Weave, it seems that 1.0rc2 is more robust to this change) is the
> following. Start Firefox, sign in to Weave and activate you master password.
> Then log to a web account. Change the password of your web account, save the
> change and quit Firefox (most of the time the change is not sync to Weave yet).
> Go to another computer where you have another Firefox synced with Weave, start
> it, sign in to Weave. Go to a web site and create an account, save it into
> Firefox and continue browsing (or just sync Weave). Now go back to the firs
> computer and start Firefox and sign in to Weave. It should sync the data, and
> if you look at your password you have the new account stored, but for the old
> account where you changed the password it is back to the old one...
> 
> Reproducible: Sometimes
> 
> Steps to Reproduce:
> See the details
> Actual Results:  
> Some password are "reset" to their older version, or some new account/password
> are lost.
> 
> Expected Results:  
> Weave should sync password accounts independently of each others, so that it
> can detect and solve conflicts when updates where made from multiple sources.

I am not able to reproduce this thing. May be its because you had an older version of weave(now - Firefox Sync). Can you please update to release 1.3 and then try to reproduce it? Please let us know if you run into this issue again.
(In reply to comment #5)
> Bug 543207 (marked as dupe of this):
> Not fixed. Today it happen again.
> Hundreds of half-year-ago-deleted bookmarks are back!
> I have a work over night.
> Good by Firefox. Switching to Chromium.

Which version of weave (now - Firefox Sync) are you using? I would suggest updating to latest release 1.3. Most of the issues have been fixed in this latest release. Also please let us know the exact steps you performed and some more details like your OS, your system configuration etc so that we can help you here.
It happened just one day after upgrading to 1.3 (from 1.2.3? - I am not sure -
but it was the latest version before 1.3)
I have 3 firefox instances: 3.5.9/winXP, 3.6.3/LucidLynx and
fennec1.0/n900maemo
steps:
1) upgrade to sync1.3 on winXP
2) starting firefox on n900 - probably cause automatical sync update too
3) upgrade to sync1.3 on Lucid

Note: Firefox on n900 was not run before there for several weeks - this may be
the key fact..
With this problem I also saw strange thing: My preferences
to sync only bookmarks and history were changed to sync everything
(which I have never used).
This bug is definitely NOT fixed.
While updating Maemo Firefox from Sync 1.4.4 to 1.5,
it happens again: Hundreds of deleted bookmarks went back!
That upgrade wipes the server state and starts from scratch, so if a device still had those bookmarks, it would re-upload them as if it were a first sync.  I think that's a different bug, so please open a new bug.
Component: Firefox Sync: Backend → Sync
Product: Cloud Services → Firefox
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.