Easy to accidentally delete profile

UNCONFIRMED
Unassigned

Status

()

Firefox
General
--
enhancement
UNCONFIRMED
8 years ago
7 years ago

People

(Reporter: zenboop, Unassigned)

Tracking

Trunk
Points:
---

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

8 years ago
User-Agent:       Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux x86_64; en-US; rv:1.9.2.3) Gecko/20100423 Ubuntu/10.04 (lucid) Firefox/3.6.3
Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux x86_64; en-US; rv:1.9.2.3) Gecko/20100423 Ubuntu/10.04 (lucid) Firefox/3.6.3

When selecting a profile it is too easy to delete the profile by accidentally pressing delete immediately before return. The return key that should start Firefox with the chosen profile now instead confirms its deletion. On my Finnish keyboards the delete and return keys are quite near each other: yesterday I once deleted my profile (luckily not its files) and today I almost did it a second time.

Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. firefox -no-remote -P
2. <Delete>
3. <Return>
Actual Results:  
The default profile is deleted.

Expected Results:  
The delete key should be ignored, or if a deletion shortkey is needed, maybe add a shift or other modifier key. Alternatively the confirmation dialog could have Cancel selected as its default action.

I cannot reproduce Bug 541615 (Pressing delete in profile does not ask for confirmation of profile deletion).

Updated

7 years ago
Severity: normal → enhancement
OS: Linux → All
Hardware: x86 → All
Version: unspecified → Trunk
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.