Closed Bug 575149 Opened 16 years ago Closed 15 years ago

Move / Copy Again permanently deletes mail if the target has been deleted with no undo possible

Categories

(Thunderbird :: Folder and Message Lists, defect)

x86
Windows XP
defect
Not set
critical

Tracking

(Not tracked)

RESOLVED WORKSFORME

People

(Reporter: veraiste, Unassigned)

Details

(Keywords: dataloss, qawanted)

User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.2.4) Gecko/20100611 Firefox/3.6.4 ( .NET CLR 3.0.4506.2152; .NET4.0E) Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.2.4) Gecko/20100608 Lightning/1.0b2 Thunderbird/3.1 I had an extension, Minimize to Tray, that used the ctrl+shift+m shortcut to minimize to tray. After it was disabled with the 3.1 update, ctrl+shift+m reverted to it's previous behavior, Move/Copy Again. I had deleted the last account I had moved mail to a while ago, resulting in the emails just disappearing. Undo was unavailable after moving the mail. I wasn't able to reproduce this after a quick try, but the preferred behavior would probably have the command do nothing if the target was deleted. Reproducible: Couldn't Reproduce
Keywords: dataloss
Component: General → Folder and Message Lists
Keywords: qawanted
QA Contact: general → folders-message-lists
joe, can you reproduce? WFM with imap and local account using trunk. when target folder is removed, the copy again/move again is greyed out. didn't test pop. didn't test 3.1. Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-US; rv:2.0b2pre) Gecko/20100701 Shredder/3.2a1pre
Severity: enhancement → critical
Version: unspecified → 3.1
Can't reproduce using pop3 inbox and moving to a local folder. Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.2.4) Gecko/20100610 Lanikai/3.1.1pre ID:20100610034839 "move again" greyed out and ctrl+shift+m does nothing.
I was thinking about this again and it is possible the last time I moved email was several versions ago, when I had 2.x. I can't reproduce the problem with 3.1, but perhaps an older version let the target remain after deletion and it just stayed that way through the updates to 3.1.
veraiste, was that a pop account you had removed? or imap?
This occurred quite a while ago, but I'm almost positive it was an imap account I removed. Potential steps to reproduce (steps 1-3 are a little hazy and could be slightly off): 1) I moved email from one account to another. It was most likely from an imap account to an imap account. 2) I deleted the account I moved mail to. Some time possibly passed between steps 1 and 2. 3) Time passes. Maybe up to a year or so. 4) An extension I used was disabled with the 3.1 update, resulting in me using the Move/Copy Again command. 5) Several pieces of mail disappeared from my inbox before I realized Thunderbird was not minimizing and mail was disappearing. Undo is unavailable. I found out that the shortcut was to the Move/Copy Again command, try it some move on some unimportant mail, and notice that the mail just disappears. 6) I change to the target of the Move/Copy Again command, try it again, and it works fine. 7) I make a new account, set it as the target of the command, delete the new account, notice that the command is unavailable, and am unable to reproduce the issue. I assume it had to with upgrading Thunderbird through many updates, but I have no way to be sure.
WFM per comment 3
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Closed: 15 years ago
Resolution: --- → WORKSFORME
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.