"Edit message as new" needs to clear recipients list

RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 528718

Status

Thunderbird
Message Compose Window
RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 528718
8 years ago
8 years ago

People

(Reporter: Greta, Unassigned)

Tracking

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

8 years ago
User-Agent:       Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux x86_64; en-US; rv:1.9.2.4) Gecko/20100622 Fedora/3.6.4-1.fc13 Firefox/3.6.4
Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux x86_64; en-US; rv:1.9.1.10) Gecko/20100621 Fedora/3.0.5-1.fc13 Thunderbird/3.0.5

When I am creating a new message using "Edit message as new", it is with the intent of sending it to new recipients.  However, the list of recipients is not cleared, and I have to manually delete each recipient.

At the very least, there should be an option to clear recipients, and it would be nice to have a check box in the composing section of preferences that says something like:  "When I edit message as new, clear recipients list."

Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1.Select an existing message
2.Click on "Edit message as new."
3.Look at list of recipients--there shouldn't be any, but there are.
Actual Results:  
All recipients of original message are on this new one.

Expected Results:  
There shouldn't be any recipients at this point.

Comment 1

8 years ago
> When I am creating a new message using "Edit message as new", it is with the
> intent of sending it to new recipients.

This would be "forwarding", not "editing" with the intend to resend a revised version of your original message. In that case, leaving the original list of recipients makes sense, or not?
Component: Preferences → Message Compose Window
QA Contact: preferences → message-compose
(Reporter)

Comment 2

8 years ago
(In reply to comment #1)
> > When I am creating a new message using "Edit message as new", it is with the
> > intent of sending it to new recipients.
> 
> This would be "forwarding", not "editing" with the intend to resend a revised
> version of your original message. In that case, leaving the original list of
> recipients makes sense, or not?

No.  I use "Edit message as new" to be sent to an entirely different batch of recipients, slightly modified (tailored to that group), without the bar on the left side of the page that appears when one forwards it.  So, one currently has to delete all the recipients by hand, which can take time and is error-prone.  Missing one has gotten me into trouble, as someone who shouldn't have gotten a particular piece of info has inadvertently gotten it.

Comment 3

8 years ago
irrc this is a duplicate
Whiteboard: dupme

Updated

8 years ago
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 8 years ago
Resolution: --- → DUPLICATE
Whiteboard: dupme
Duplicate of bug: 528718
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.