If you think a bug might affect users in the 57 release, please set the correct tracking and status flags for Release Management.

When last message is marked deleted, it should jump back to the last non-deleted message

NEW
Unassigned

Status

Thunderbird
Folder and Message Lists
7 years ago
a year ago

People

(Reporter: Hendrik Maryns, Unassigned)

Tracking

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Whiteboard: [wontfix?])

(Reporter)

Description

7 years ago
I have set TB to just mark messages as deleted (as Googlemail recommends).  If I delete the last message in a folder, the focus stays on that message.  It should rather jump back to the last non-deleted message before it, or, if there is none, loose the focus and show the start screen.
Does it happens in safe-mode (http://support.mozillamessaging.com/en-US/kb/Safe+Mode) ?
(Reporter)

Comment 2

7 years ago
(In reply to comment #1)
> Does it happens in safe-mode
> (http://support.mozillamessaging.com/en-US/kb/Safe+Mode) ?

Yes.
Are you using the unified folder view ?
(Reporter)

Comment 4

7 years ago
Both in ‘All folders’ as well as in ‘Unified folders’.

I also noticed that after hitting delete, the message gets striked, then becomes unstriked again, then finally gets striked again.  It seems as if 2 processes are interacting in a strange way here, but I suppose this is another bug?
Yes that's another bug.

Magnus do you also observe this ?
(Reporter)

Comment 6

7 years ago
This even happens if there is an unread message still further up.

Possibly also related: if I am viewing a normal message followed by a deleted message and delete this one, TB hops to the next message, which is, indeed, the deleted one, not the next normal one further down (or up).

Comment 7

5 years ago
imho the current behavior not to move is the intuitive one
Whiteboard: [wontfix?]
(Reporter)

Comment 8

5 years ago
But that means that the focus remains on a deleted message.  What’s the use of that?  You delete it because you want to get rid of it, right?

Comment 9

5 years ago
Well, i delete it because i don't want/need to see it *again*. If it jumps to another message that message is really very random at least for me.
(Reporter)

Comment 10

5 years ago
This is also the behavior in a folder where messages are deleted immediately: the message disappears and the next one down is highlighted and shown.  If the last one is deleted, then the focus jumps to the message which becomes the last one, that is, the previously penultimate one.  It’s this behavior I expect to be mimicked in the strike-through case.

Comment 11

5 years ago
The big difference is the message is still showing in the list for mark-as-deleted, and the "move-back" wouldn't always be one message. If we do as you suggest you might end up moving back tens or hundred of messages maybe - typically it would most certainly not be just one.
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.