Open Bug 638757 Opened 12 years ago Updated 6 months ago
Contradiction between preferences "Clear saved passwords when Firefox closes" and "Remember passwords"
(Firefox :: Settings UI, defect)
(Reporter: iceberg, Unassigned)
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:2.0b13pre) Gecko/20110303 Firefox/4.0b13pre Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:2.0b13pre) Gecko/20110303 Firefox/4.0b13pre These two contradictory options may be selected simultaneously. 1. Security option: Remember passwords for sites = yes. 2. Privacy option: Clear history when Firefox closes: Saved passwords = yes. The second option wins, but the two options are both selected. Reproducible: Always Actual Results: Remember passwords for sites = yes, but it's false. Expected Results: Warning! Must be appear when: 1. The user select "Clear passwords when Firefox closes" and is already selected "Remember passwords for sites". 2. The user select "Remember passwords for sites" and is already selected "Clear passwords when Firefox closes".
12 years ago
Version: unspecified → Trunk
12 years ago
not only it's a contradiction, it's very annoying asking again and again about saving password for this site, and even chosing "never for this site" doesn't work! (I think because when deleting history it forgets wich passwords need to forget!)
9 years ago
Why is this a contradiction? "Remember passwords" means they're added to the database during use. If you return to the site during the same session, passwords will be autofilled. "Clear when closes" means the database is wiped on exit. Having both enabled means you get the best of both worlds: a more usable browser during your session, but nothing persisting past quit.
6 months ago
Severity: minor → S4
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.