If you think a bug might affect users in the 57 release, please set the correct tracking and status flags for Release Management.

Sync password/account information is lost if Custom history Saved Passwords is checked

VERIFIED DUPLICATE of bug 553400

Status

Cloud Services
Firefox Sync: Backend
VERIFIED DUPLICATE of bug 553400
6 years ago
6 years ago

People

(Reporter: jbonacci, Unassigned)

Tracking

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

6 years ago
If the Saved Passwords option is selected for Custom history, I am unable to directly Sync with my current account. It appears as if I never set up Sync.

Found this while toying with the Custom History setting in FF preferences.
As a result, though, I had to enter my Sync account manually to "restore it" for use on my Mac FF install and on my previously activated devices.

Preferences > Privacy > History
Select: Firefox will: "Use custom setting for history"
Select: Clear history when Firefox closes
Select: the Settings button

Under Data, check the Saved Passwords box.

Close FireFox
Restart FireFox
You will notice that instead of the usual "Sync Now" option under Tools, you are back to "Set Up Sync..."
This might fool the user into thinking the account is gone, but it is not.
Unfortunately, it does appear that the active devices are gone.

Current workaround to get back in:
Tools > Set Up Sync > Connect
Select the "I don't have the device with me link"
Type in the Account, password, etc.


Current workaround to prevent this from happening:
Custom History settings are OK, just do not check the Saved Passwords boxes to avoid clearing the Password information.

Updated

6 years ago
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 6 years ago
Resolution: --- → DUPLICATE
Duplicate of bug: 553400
(Reporter)

Comment 2

6 years ago
Got it, thanks for finding that older bug.
Status: RESOLVED → VERIFIED
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.