If you think a bug might affect users in the 57 release, please set the correct tracking and status flags for Release Management.

BrowserID - Deleting an account does not delete user's data and saved sessions with websites

RESOLVED FIXED

Status

Mozilla Labs
Identity
RESOLVED FIXED
6 years ago
4 years ago

People

(Reporter: Mohamed Dabbagh, Unassigned)

Tracking

Details

(Whiteboard: [testday-20111014])

(Reporter)

Description

6 years ago
When the user deletes an account, their saved data and sessions associated with that account (and websites) is not deleted. Not sure if this is the intended  but there are possibilities that the user might not want this:
- Maybe the user deleted the account to re-create it and start fresh
- Maybe another person acquires that same email address (original user deleted the email account or gave the account to someone else for some reason)

Steps to Reproduce:
1) Go to https://diresworb.org/signup and create an account 
2) Go to http://beta.myfavoritebeer.org/ and sign in with that account
3) Enter a value within the text box and press enter (saves your data)
4) Log out of myfavoritebeer.com
5) Return to https://diresworb.org/signup and delete the account (edit > Remove)
6) Create a new browserID account using the same email as in step 1
7) Go to myfavoritebeer.com and log-in

Actual Result:
User is able to see what they have entered and saved before they deleted the account.

Updated

6 years ago
OS: Windows 7 → All

Comment 1

4 years ago
Is this still a problem? Please open a new issue at https://github.com/mozilla/browserid/issues/new
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 4 years ago
Resolution: --- → FIXED
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.