Transfer Project Ownership When User Deletes Account

VERIFIED FIXED in 1.2

Status

VERIFIED FIXED
7 years ago
6 years ago

People

(Reporter: bensternthal, Assigned: pmac)

Tracking

unspecified
x86
Mac OS X

Details

(Whiteboard: u=owners c=projects p=2 [UAT+])

(Reporter)

Description

7 years ago
When a user deletes there account

"If they're the only project owner, then ownership should be transferred to a team member picked by the exiting owner.  If there are no team members left, then membership should be transferred to the site owner."
(Reporter)

Updated

6 years ago
Target Milestone: 1.1 → 1.2
Assignee: nobody → pmclanahan
Whiteboard: u=owners c=projects p=2
(Reporter)

Comment 1

6 years ago
This turned out to be quite complicated. Paul and I suggest this alternative.

== Product With Multiple Owners
Product owners can delete their account. Other owners will remain. All is well.

== Product With Single Owner
When user tries to delete their account, we present the following message:

"We can not delete your account because you are assigned as a project owner. To delete your profile please assign a new project owner to the following projects {}, {}, {}. You will then be able to delete your profile."

David can you confirm if the above is OK and if you want any tweaks to the copy. Paul also stated we could add to the note that they could assign this to Havi in the absence of any other owners.
Assignee: pmclanahan → dascher
sounds just fine, yes.

only tweak i would suggest indeed is to mention havi as the person to talk to if they don't know who to pick.
(Reporter)

Comment 3

6 years ago
OK pmac use this text:

"We can not delete your account because you are assigned as a project owner. To delete your profile please assign a new project owner to the following projects {}, {}, {}. You will then be able to delete your profile. If you do not know whom to re-assign please contact hhoffman@mozilla.com."

Note when havi gets the generic mozilla labs email account setup we should use that.
Assignee: dascher → pmclanahan

Comment 4

6 years ago
Commit pushed to master at https://github.com/mozilla/betafarm

https://github.com/mozilla/betafarm/commit/9a04a86c7060b5e13c46bdfaf53d99afb0987d05
Prevent sole project owner from deleting profile.

Fix bug 736119.

Updated

6 years ago
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 6 years ago
Resolution: --- → FIXED
Assignee: moz → bsternthal
Whiteboard: u=owners c=projects p=2 → u=owners c=projects p=2 [UAT?]
(Reporter)

Comment 5

6 years ago
I tried testing this... I removed all product owners here except for myself. Then deleted my account... i did not get a warning as I expected and the account was deleted. If you look now you will see there are two team members (I dont think they are owners.)

If you want me to retest, make Ben Sternthal (new account) the sole product owner of webfwd:

https://mozillalabs-dev.allizom.org/en-US/webfwd/
Assignee: bsternthal → moz
Status: RESOLVED → REOPENED
Resolution: FIXED → ---
So, apparently dev has yet to update. According to the following URL, it hasn't updated with any of today's pushes:

https://mozillalabs-dev.allizom.org/media/revision_info.txt

Not sure what the deal is. I'll check with :solarce.
Solarce fixed it. And as a bonus, we now haz faster dev server \o/
(Reporter)

Comment 8

6 years ago
confirmed to be working on dev
Status: REOPENED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 6 years ago6 years ago
Resolution: --- → FIXED
Whiteboard: u=owners c=projects p=2 [UAT?] → u=owners c=projects p=2 [UAT+]
Verified correct behavior with a single owner, multiple owners as well as owners vs members.
Status: RESOLVED → VERIFIED
(Reporter)

Updated

6 years ago
Component: Betafarm → mozillalabs.com
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.