Confusing behaviour if nick already in use

RESOLVED FIXED

Status

RESOLVED FIXED
18 years ago
14 years ago

People

(Reporter: gerv, Assigned: rginda)

Tracking

Trunk
x86
Windows 95

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

If you attempt to attach to a network where the Nick you choose is already in 
use, you get a "Nick in use" error. Then, attempting to /join channels gives 
"Register first". New users may not know about the /nick command (which is why 
we have a "Choose Nickname" popup in the first place.)

Chatzilla should re-pop-up this pop-up if the nick is found to be already in 
use, or possibly modify the nick (append an _?) and tell the user about it.

Gerv
(Assignee)

Updated

18 years ago
Depends on: 89713
(Assignee)

Comment 1

18 years ago
I've got somewhat of a fix for this in 89713.  As the patch stands now, it just
adds the text "use the /nick command to pick a new nickname" to the "nickname in
use" message.  I'll probably modify it to add leading or trailing _'s if you're
in the "login" phase.  That is, if you're already connected and chatting and you
/nick |, when | is in use, you won't automatically become |_.
Status: NEW → ASSIGNED
(Assignee)

Comment 2

18 years ago
This is now part of the patch in bug 89713, including the automatic rename/retry
behavior during login.
(Assignee)

Comment 3

18 years ago
fix checked in
Status: ASSIGNED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 18 years ago
Resolution: --- → FIXED
Product: Core → Other Applications
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.