When deleting just the Forward Address Header the entire message is deleted

RESOLVED WORKSFORME

Status

Thunderbird
General
RESOLVED WORKSFORME
6 years ago
6 years ago

People

(Reporter: douglas.morgan, Unassigned)

Tracking

12 Branch
x86_64
Windows 7

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

6 years ago
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:12.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/12.0
Build ID: 20120420145725

Steps to reproduce:

I opened the forwarded message and attempted to delete just the "Original Message" header addressing information. I highlighted just the five lines that I wanted to delete:
-------- Original Message --------
Subject: 	Fwd: Fwd: Fwd: Fwd: Your immediate attention and action is required!
Date: 	Tue, 22 May 2012 12:22:05 -0700
From: 	 
To: 	 

and hit the delete key. 


Actual results:

To my surprise the entire message was deleted and I was returned to the main Thunderbird screen.


Expected results:

In my opinion just the addressing information should have been deleted

Comment 1

6 years ago
(In reply to douglas.morgan from comment #0)
Is this happening randomly or all the time? Disable add-ons and retry.
1) Douglas, where in TB were you when you pressed DEL? Is it possible that you were looking at the forwarded message in message preview pane of TB main 3-pane window when you selected the rows and deleted?

I cannot reproduce this (obviously). The only way to find out about this problem is to have an affected message as a testcase.

2) Douglas, can you retrieve the deleted message from your Thunderbird's "Trash" folder, and then File > Save as > File.eml and attach it to this bug (after removing private information as necessary), or send it to my email address for testing?

3) Can you reproduce the problem on other messages? (If you just press DEL and they get deleted, you can always recover them from trash, but safety copies are recommended, or use test messages).
Douglas ?
I supect that this is a dupe of bug 374853:
User can easily get confused when looking at saved draft in message reader preview, then trying to edit directly from there, select text, DEL -> whole msg gone, instead of just nothing. We really need ux-error-prevention of bug 374853.
Whiteboard: [closeme wfm or dupe of 2012-06-20]
Whiteboard: [closeme wfm or dupe of 2012-06-20] → [closeme wfm or dupe of 374853 2012-06-20]
No response from reporter (why do you report?)...
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 6 years ago
Resolution: --- → WORKSFORME
Whiteboard: [closeme wfm or dupe of 374853 2012-06-20]
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.