New settings not respected when upgrading to nightly

RESOLVED WONTFIX

Status

()

Firefox
Untriaged
RESOLVED WONTFIX
6 years ago
6 years ago

People

(Reporter: fbrfa8.g, Unassigned)

Tracking

12 Branch
x86_64
Windows 8
Points:
---

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

6 years ago
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.2; WOW64; rv:12.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/12.0
Build ID: 20120420145725

Steps to reproduce:

Switched from release firefox to nightly


Actual results:

My settings for "smooth scrolling" and "don't load tabs until selected" were changed.


Expected results:

The settings should have stayed the same.  I deliberately set those settings because I want all my tabs loaded, and smooth scrolling sucks(no offense).  When switching from release to nightly, these settings are changed, requiring me to reset them.
Changed default settings are of course used in a new version.
Example: We have a new feature but it's not ready for our users. The default for this feature is therefore set to off in our release.
After the feature is fixed and ready it will be switched to on in the next release.

You have to do overwrite the default setting only once and that should not be a problem.
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 6 years ago
Resolution: --- → INVALID
(Reporter)

Comment 2

6 years ago
It is acceptable to change the default settings for NEW accounts.
When an EXISTING account is migrated to a newer version of firefox, the user's settings should not be changed, especially for features that already existed.
In this case, smooth scrolling has been available in firefox for many versions, meaning that if the user wanted the feature, it would be enabled, and if it was disabled, it is probable that the user does not want it.
Status: RESOLVED → UNCONFIRMED
Resolution: INVALID → ---
The default value of smooth scrolling had been "off" in the past and you used the default setting.
Smooth scrolling was disabled by default for various reasons and many of this issues are fixed now. You can always disable it again and it will stay disabled.
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 6 years ago6 years ago
Resolution: --- → WONTFIX
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.